Canadian Bacon and Gruyere Frittata

Leave a comment

I don’t remember where I found this recipe but I think it’s originally a Tyler Florence recipe because I seem to remember him making something similar.

I changed it up a little bit ~ I used Canadian bacon instead of ham but if you have leftover ham, this would be a great use for some of it.  I replaced the heavy cream with fat free half and half.  I also nixed the Parmesan, chives and sour cream ~ just to try to shave off some calories.  If I was serving this company, I would add them.

ham-and-gruyere-frittata-001

Canadian Bacon and Gruyere Frittata

1 tbsp. butter
1 small onion, diced
4 small red potatoes, diced
8 large eggs
2 tbsps heavy cream
1 cup grated Gruyere cheese
salt and pepper
1 cup diced Canadian bacon or ham
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1 bunch chives, chopped

Melt butter in a large oven proof pan. Add the onion and potatoes and saute until cooked through.

In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, Gruyere, salt and pepper until well mixed and foamy. Pour this mixture over the top of the onions and potatoes in the pan. Pull the edges away from the sides of the pan to let the uncooked egg run to the bottom of the pan.

When the frittata is half set, add the meat.

Transfer the pan to the heated oven and baked for 10 minutes until puffed, golden, and egg is completely cooked. I baked mine for about 15 minutes and then ran it under the broiler for a few minutes.

Serve with the grated Parmesan on top and garnish with the sour cream and chives if desired.

Makes 4 to 6 servings

ham-and-gruyere-frittata-004

Happy Cooking!

my-signature5

Leave a Reply

