Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

6 Comments

I have been making these rolls for a long time and they are delicious.  They go with anything and are especially good split with turkey or ham or beef to make a little sandwich.

I throw everything in my bread machine and let it do the work even though this isn’t specifically a bread machine recipe.  Whether you make them by hand or machine, they are good!

Editing to add:  I sub in Splenda for the sugar and it works great, too.

oatmeal-dinner-rolls-1

Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

1 tablespoon yeast
1 cup warm water
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup quick-cooking rolled oats or old fashioned oats
1 egg, beaten
3 tablespoons oil
3 cups bread flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water.

Add sugar, salt, rolled oats, egg, oil and 2 1/4 cups flour. Turn onto floured surface and knead in remaining flour. Knead for a few more minutes.

Let rise in warm place for 1 to 1-1/2 hours.

Shape dough into balls and place in greased pan. Let rise about one hour.

Bake at 350º for 20-25 minutes.

Butter tops while still warm.

Makes 6-8 servings

oatmeal-dinner-rolls-2

Happy Cooking!

my-signature4

6 thoughts on “Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

  1. These are the best rolls I have ever made. I can’t make rolls! I used the bread machine. I was sooo excited when they rose uniform and they baked and in less time than the recipe said. I set the timer for 16 min and with 4 minutes left they were beautifully golden brown light and fluffy. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH! I finally found a recipe that I can rely on.

  2. Now it makes complete sense why sometimes your rolls taste different then others…I didn’t realize you had two different recipes! Seriously, I’m ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

