Cold Weather Pot Roast

1 Comment

I know it’s not cold for many of you but when the temperature gets below 50º, I freeze to death. I take Zippy to the dog park every morning and it has been in the low 40’s this past week and I am so cold, I can’t get warm. I even had to put the heat on when I got home. I’m such a weather wimp.

When it’s cold, I think of pot roast and soups. I tried this recipe the other day and it’s delicious.

Cold Weather Pot Roast

3.5 to 5 pound beef chuck roast
2 cans cream of celery soup
1 package onion soup mix
1 to 2 cups red wine
1/2 cup frozen apple juice concentrate
4 to 6 potatoes, peeled and quartered
4 to 8 carrots, cut into 3-inch lengths
1 pound pkg. mushrooms, sliced
4 stalks celery, sliced
1/8 tsp. pepper
1 tsp salt

Place beef in a roasting pan and pour the soup and onion soup mix over the top. Stir in wine and cover. Bake at 350º for 1 hour.

Add apple juice, potatoes and carrots and bake for another 30 minutes.

Add mushrooms, celery, salt and pepper and bake for 1 more hour, uncovering for the last 30 minutes.

Serve 4-6

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Cold Weather Pot Roast

Leave a Reply

