My Mom’s Mac & Cheese

7 Comments

I love mac & cheese.  I especially like this recipe because it’s easy and I don’t have to make any white sauce or anything like that.  It may not be your typical mac & cheese but it’s cheesey and delicious.

There really is no recipe for this so I’ll explain how I do it using approximate amounts.  You really can make this recipe your own by adding meat to it or veggies.  I can make this any day of the week because I always have the ingredients in the house.  You can also make any size pan ~ 8×8, 9×9, 13×9 ~ just by adjusting your ingredient amounts.

My Mom’s Mac & Cheese

elbow macaroni, cooked
1 pkg. Kraft American cheese slices
milk

To make enough for a 13×9 pan:

Cook the whole box of elbow macaroni, drain. Place in a greased 13×9 pan.

Cut up 24 slice package of American cheese slices and mix the pieces in with the cooked macaroni.

Pour milk over the the mac/cheese mixture just until you can see the milk in between the macaroni. Do not cover the macaroni with milk.

Bake at 375º for about 45 minutes or until done to your liking. I like mine to be creamy but not runny so keep checking at 45 minutes and stir until done.

Serves 4-6.

To make a smaller amount, just use half a box of elbows, half the cheese, and half the milk.

Happy Cooking!

7 thoughts on “My Mom’s Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

