Happy Birthday Cake ~ My Mom’s Chocolate Cake

10 Comments

Today is my DH’s birthday! Happy Birthday!

This recipe is my standard birthday cake.  Everyone gets one.  It’s the same recipe my Mom used when she would make birthday cakes for us kids when we were young.  It’s an old fashioned cake and it’s best made in the morning, frosted, and let sit in the fridge until serving time.  You can frost it with any kind of frosting but we always used whipped heavy cream.  I don’t sweeten the cream since the cake is sweet and I like the combination of the sweet cake the cream.

My Mom’s Chocolate Cake

1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 (1 oz) unsweetened baking chocolate squares, melted
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups cake flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup ice water

Stir butter to soften gradually, add sugar, creaming until light and fluffy.

Add eggs one at a time beating well after each.

Blend in cooled chocolate and vanilla.

Sift together flour, soda and salt, add to creamed mixture alternately with water, beating after each addition.

Bake in 2 (8-inch) round, greased cake pans at 350º for 30-35 minutes.

Frost with 1 pint heavy or whipping cream, whipped or your favorite frosting.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Cake ~ My Mom’s Chocolate Cake

  1. This looks so good! I love old family recipes too…one of our standard b/d cakes was Red Earth Cake. Haven’t made one in a very long time though…love the blog!

  2. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful blog!

  3. Happy belated birthday to your DH, Nancy ! I, too, have a ‘standard’ chocolate cake which has been passed down through the generations & which everyone gets for their birthday ! It’s lovely to have old recipes like this, don’t you think ?

  4. I’m lucky I can get them out of the pan in one piece ~ I can’t imagine what I would end up with if I split the halves again.

  5. i’m so excited to get this recipe nancy! i had forgotten about nana making this cake. a certain special someone’s birthday is coming up and maybe i will make it for him. thanks!

Leave a Reply

