Monkey Bread

16 Comments

I don’t know why this is called monkey bread.  All I know is that it’s delicious and I always get asked for the recipe.  There really isn’t any “recipe”.  You could make this with homemade bread dough, the storebought bread dough or use the biscuits like I do.

Monkey Bread

3 cans Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsps cinnamon
1 stick of butter
1 cup packed brown sugar

Take biscuits out of the can (one can at a time) and cut each biscuit into 4 pieces.

Mix sugar and cinnamon together and toss biscuit fourths in this mixture.

Place biscuit pieces in a greased bundt pan.

Melt butter and brown sugar in a small pan over medium heat until sugar has melted. Pour hot mixture over biscuits in bundt pan.

Place in a preheated oven (heat to whatever temperature the package says to bake the biscuits at) and bake for 25-30 minutes.

Remove from oven and invert onto serving plate. Let cool a bit before pulling off chunks to eat.

Serves at least 10-12.

Happy Cooking!

16 thoughts on “Monkey Bread

  1. I just read about this bread in James Beard’s book, “Beard On Bread.” He has it listed as Monkey Bread but notes it is also called Bubble Bread. He said perhaps the name Monkey Bread came from it’s “silly shape.” (Of course, he makes his from scratch.) His description reminded me of a good friend’s mom who used to make what she called “Pinch Me Cake” (pinch off a piece or two or three or…). So I went to the Net to see if his recipe was akin to hers and after finding this site, Yep! It sure is. I still remember how her’s was sticky sweet, cinnamony, and loaded with lots of pecans. Yummy! Her son and I would “raid” this in the kitchen late at night. Now I know how she did it. Thanks Nancy!

  2. omg i remember i had this when i was little but i havent had it in a long time im gonna cook it right when i finish typing this…mmm its gonna be good!

  3. Try the Monkey Bread with a holiday twist. Drizzle the botom of the pan with corn syrup, pecans, and dried cherries. Then add 1/2 if the dough rolled in butter and cinnamon. Add the corn syrup, pecans, and cherries again and then, top with the remaining bread. Delicious and festive!!!

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu « A Recipe A Day

  5. Pingback: Monkey Bread « Bitchin’ Kitchen

  6. WHEN DID YOU MAKE THIS AND WHY WASN’T I TOLD?? We haven’t had that in forever! I’m so jealous. So is Zoey. She ate some fluff off the floor to prove it.

    Can I eat this now?

  7. Awww, monkey bread! The childhood memories! I used to make this a ton when I was a kid, and every now and then I’ll pull it out for a meeting here at work. People always think it looks strange, but there’s never any leftovers!

  8. Yummy! My mom used to make this for us all the time when we were teenagers. I had completely forgotten about it. Glad to have it back on my radar 🙂

Leave a Reply

