Chipotle Roast (Crock Pot)

4 Comments

Gosh, I love chipotles.  I just love that smoky flavor.  This roast is easy to throw in your crockpot and use for wraps, tacos, sandwiches, etc.  If you don’t like alot of heat, slice open the chipotles and scrape out the seeds.  Conversely, if you like heat, leave them in.  I usually leave them in one and take them out of the other two.  DH pours on the hot sauce since he loves his food HOT.

Chipotle Roast (Crock Pot)

3 lbs. chuck roast, trimmed of visible fat
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
2 tsps chili powder
2 tsps cumin
3 chipotles in adobo, chopped
1 (4 ounce) can green chilies (I use fire roasted chilies)
1 (7 ounce) can/jar of salsa verde
1 large onion, sliced
3 tsps minced garlic
1 cup beef broth

Place roast in large crockpot and sprinkle with the salt and pepper, chili powder and cumin. Add the remaining ingredients and cook on HIGH for 5 hours or on LOW for 7-8 hours.

When cooked, shred the meat with a fork and continue cooking in crockpot for 15 minutes.

Use in enchiladas, tacos, sandwiches, wraps, etc.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Chipotle Roast (Crock Pot)

  1. It must be chipotle day, I just got done posting a new recipe on my blog with chipotle in it. Love that smokey yummy taste. I can’t wait to try your recipe with some of the beef I found down in my freezer this morning when I was cleaning it out. MMM>. oh and we tried your beer pizza crust–its really good! keep up the good recipes!!

Leave a Reply

