Delicious and Easy Caramel Corn

6 Comments

I know many people who won’t even try to make caramel corn because they think it’s so hard to make ~ it really is pretty easy.   Remember ~  I *rarely* make anything complicated.   When I think of Halloween I think of caramel corn and candy (not caramel) apples.  This recipe is very good and I love it because it doesn’t stick to my teeth as much as some.

I use Orville Reddenbacher’s Smart Pop popcorn for this recipe ~ 2 bags.  I never add the peanuts because of personal preference.  I also make it in those aluminum foil roasting pans you can buy at the store.  No muss ~ no fuss!

Delicious and Easy Caramel Corn

7 quarts plain popped popcorn
2 cups dry roasted peanuts (optional)
2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1 tsp. salt
1 cup butter
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla

Place the popped popcorn in two lightly greased roasting pans ~ I put one popped bag in each pan. Add the peanuts, if using, and set aside.

Preheat your oven to 250º.

Combine the brown sugar, corn syrup, butter, and salt in a saucepan. Bring to boil and stir enough to blend. Once this mixture starts to boil, boil for 5 minutes while stirring constantly.

Remove from heat and stir in the baking soda and vanilla. The mixture will be light in color and foamy. Pour immediately over the popcorn and stir to coat. Do not worry about getting all the corn coated at this point ~ just do the best you can.

Bake for 1 hour, giving all the corn a good stir every 15 minutes. At the first stir, you will be able to get the most, if not all the corn coated.

When baking is complete, line your counter with parchment paper or wax paper and dump the corn onto it, carefully separating it. Allow to cool completely, then store in ziplocks or airtight containers.

Makes 28 servings, give or take.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Delicious and Easy Caramel Corn

  1. I just found this recipe and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! My 5 year old helped me make it and all my family helped me eat it! Thanks for sharing such a easy recipe for caramel corn! This one is a keeper for sure!

  2. Thanks for this recipe Nancy!
    I LOVE caramel popcorn, so this photo looks great to me! I can’t wait to try it!
    I know what you mean about TWD. I always find myself playing catch-up too, or, playing Thursdays With Dorie!
    I noticed I was on your blogroll, so I’ll be adding yours to mine as well. Keep up the good work!
    Donna

Leave a Reply

