TWD No More and Sweet Cornbread

13 Comments

I made the decision last week to quit doing the Tuesdays with Dorie.  I find myself always playing catch-up and it’s becoming a chore.  I sent the TWD ladies an email yesterday saying I am dropping out.  I will, however,  be continuing to check out everyone’s TWD posts!  It’s been great and delicious fun!!!!!

If you like cornbread on the sweet side, you will love this recipe.  I found it on Steph’s Kitchen years ago and it is the only cornbread that I make regularly.   Give it a try ~ it’s delicious!

Sweet Cornbread

1/2 cup cornmeal
1 1/2 cups flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup oil
3 tablespoons melted butter
1 tablespoon honey
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a bowl, combine cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add the oil, melted butter, honey, eggs, and milk.

Pour into a greased 8-inch square pan.

Bake for 35 minutes.

Serves 4 to 6

Happy Cooking!

13 thoughts on “TWD No More and Sweet Cornbread

  1. Made these some time last week and added just a little more cornmeal than said but it still came out GREAT!!….Making another batch today 🙂

    • *Forgot to mention, I made this with skim milk and it was wonderful – light, fluffy and so moist. We absolutely love it and I have given the recipe out to many friends and family. Thanks!

  2. I’ve been looking for a great corn bread recipe, I found one made it and could not find the recipe back on line after. I searched for months until I found yours it’s the best ever most moist cornbread. Thank you for sharing, I book marked and wrote this one down.

  3. this is the best cornbread i’ve ever had. It’s the only recipe i use. You’ve made my family dinners a success for years because of this. I figured i might as well finally tell you! Thank you so much.

  4. I’m sorry you’re dropping out! I understand though, when it becomes a chore and not fun, it’s the perfect decision. Life’s too short!

  5. It must be so difficult to do the TWD every single week. My hats off to you and the whole group!

    i love love love sweet cornbread, so I’m filing this one to add to my collection. yum!

Leave a Reply

