BBQ Beef Sandwiches (Crockpot)

8 Comments

There are loads of these recipes on the internet but I like this one because you make the barbecue sauce instead of using store bought.  It’s still easy to make.  This would be great for a party, potluck or tailgating.  I usually serve with my easy cole slaw and chips.

BBQ Beef Sandwiches

3 to 4 lb. beef chuck roast
1 1/2 cups ketchup
1 (1 ounce) pkg. onion soup mix
1 tbsp. chili powder
3 tbsps vinegar (I use red wine vinegar)
1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
2 tsps. prepared mustard
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
Kaiser rolls
Cheese slices, your choice (I use monterey jack)

Trim fat from beef and place in crockpot.

Stir together all remaining ingredients together ~ except rolls and cheese ~ and pour over meat in crockpot.

Cover and cook on LOW for 8 to 10 hours or on HIGH for 4 to 5 hours, or until fork tender.

Skim off fat. Remove meat from crockpot and shred. Return meat to sauce in crockpot.

Spoon about 1/4 cup of meat on bottom of each roll and top with cheese. Place under broiler to melt cheese if desired.

Makes 6-8 sandwiches.

Happy Cooking!

8 thoughts on “BBQ Beef Sandwiches (Crockpot)

  1. Pingback: What I eat, apparently » Blog Archive » Homemade barbecue that simmers for a painfully long time

  2. I JUST PICK UP A ROAST TODAY FOR THE PURPOSE OF MAKING BARBECUE BEEF. I WILL TRY IT AT HOME FIRST AND THEN I WILL MAKE IT FOR A FAMILY GATHERING. I HOPE IT TURNS OUT GOOD FOR YOU.

  3. Pingback: The Ladybug’s Soapbox » Blog Archive » Crockpot BBQ Beef Sandwiches

  4. I made this last night – YUM! It was a nice change for supper. DH happily took leftovers to work for lunch and there is enough for tomorrow too. The recipe is tucked safely in my recipe binder for another day. I think it will also make for a nice casual lunch with the inl-aws one of these days.

  5. Alexis ~ I think the boneless blade roast is most close to a chuck roast ~ at least according to a beef website I googled to compare with the website you posted.

Leave a Reply

