My Mom’s Apple Crisp

6 Comments

I love my Mom’s apple crisp.  It’s different from most recipes since it doesn’t call for oats in the topping.  The topping gets so nice and crunchy.  Yummy!  Whenever we got sick and started to feel better, my Mom would make us an apple crisp.  I always use McIntosh apples because I like the apples to really cook down ~ almost like applesauce.  I like whipped cream on mine but it’s good with vanilla ice cream, too.

My Mom’s Apple Crisp

4 cups apples, peeled and sliced
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter, softened

Place apples in buttered 10×6 baking dish (I use a 9×9 glass dish). Sprinkle with cinnamon and water.

Rub together flour, sugar and butter. Drop mixture over apples.

Bake at 350º for 40 minutes.

Makes 4 servings

View Printable Recipe Here!

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “My Mom’s Apple Crisp

  1. I just tried the recipe and I loved it! Next time, I will probably add more flour and use less sugar. Thanks for sharing. Love it!

  2. I HAVEBEEN LOOKING FOR A RECIPE SUCH AS THIS. I DON’T LIKE OATS IN MY CRISP AND I TOO LUV MY APPLES TO BE COOKED ALMOST TO APPLESAUCE IN TEXTURE!! I CANNOT WAIT TO MAKE IT.

  3. Your mom’s apple crisp sounds like the kind of meal that would certainly help speed up the healing process :)! The best recipes are always homemade, like this one. I’ve love to feature it on our Demy, the first and only digital recipe reader. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if you’re interested :). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

