Super Easy Chicken Parmigiana

6 Comments

I have a real thing for chicken parmigiana.  It’s a toss-up between that and eggplant parmigiana as to what I order in an Italian restaurant.  This recipe, while not the real thing, works when I am really craving it. I use a 28 ounce jar of sauce ~ putting some on the chicken and the rest in a saucepan to warm up to serve over pasta with the chicken.

Super Easy Chicken Parmigiana

4 boneless chicken breasts
1/2 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tbsps. butter
1 (14 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce
1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

Place chicken between two sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap and flatten using a meat mallet or rolling pin.

Combine bread crumbs and cheese. Dip chicken in beaten egg; dredge in breadcrumb mixture.

Melt butter in a large skillet; add chicken and brown on each side over medium-high heat.

Arrange chicken in a lightly greased 13×9 baking dish. Pour spaghetti sauce over chicken and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Cover and bake at 375º for 30 minutes or until thoroughly heated and chicken is no longer pink.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Super Easy Chicken Parmigiana

  1. I love these recipes! A lot of recipes have too many ingredients (sometime stuff I’ve never even heard of), but these are simple and yummy. Sometimes less is more and more likely to be given a try. Thanks so much!

  2. I made this recipe for dinner tonight. Yummy! I served it on whole wheat penne and a side of steamed broccoli. It is definitely a ‘make again’.

    I didn’t pound the chicken – but I will next time. It took quite a bit longer to cook. I poured the whole bottle of sauce over the chicken and just spooned it from the dish over the pasta.

    I look forward to reading your posts each day. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

