Mexican Salad

1 Comment

I am very excited today ~ I have tickets to see Paula Deen this afternoon.  She’s doing a show at a cooking expo here in town.  I am dragging DH with me since I go plenty of places with him that I think are boring, LOL!  I’m bringing my camera and I’ll post pics tonight.

On to the recipe.  I love this salad!  In fact, I made it 2 days in a row.  DH, who hates avocados, couldn’t get enough of it.  The dressing tastes like smooth guacamole.  You can put whatever you like in the salad.

Mexican Salad

Salad:
1 head lettuce, torn
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese or monterey jack cheese
1/2 cup chopped green onion
1/2 cup chopped black olives
4 medium tomatoes

Dressing:
1 avocado, peeled, pitted, mashed
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 cup sour cream
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 cup crushed tortilla or corn chips

Combine the lettuce, cheese, green onions, black olives and tomatoes in a salad bowl and toss to mix well.

Combine the avocado, lemon juice, sour cream, oil, sugar, garlic salt, and chili powder in a blender container and process until smooth.

Pour over salad and toss to mix well.

Stir in corn chips just before serving.

Serves 4

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Mexican Salad

Leave a Reply

