Easy Shrimp Scampi

12 Comments

Such a sad day. We lived a couple of blocks and a short ferry ride (just off the tip of Manhattan) from the World Trade Center for 9 years ~ in fact, I could walk out of our apartment building and just stand there and look at it. We were there when the WTC was bombed in 1993 ~ we heard it ~ and I am glad that we were not there in 2001. I’ll be saying a prayer for all those innocent lives lost.

Photobucket Image Hosting

Shrimp Scampi! I can’t tell you how much I love it. It’s so easy to make. I think some people don’t like to cook with shrimp because they are easy to overcook and then they get chewy and not so good. Just cook until they turn pink on the outside and opaque on the inside. It’s really a matter of minutes.

I serve it with rice and peas ~ although it’s good with pasta, too.

Easy Shrimp Scampi

1 pound large fresh shrimp
3 large cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/4 cup dry white wine
1/4 tsp. dried crushed red pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley or you can use dried

Peel shrimp and devein.

In a large skillet, saute minced garlic in hot oil for 1 to 2 minutes.  Add the butter and stir until it melts. Add the shrimp and cook for 1 minute.

Stir in wine and red pepper; reduce heat, and simmer 1 to 2 minutes or until the shrimp turns pink.

Sprinkle with the fresh parsley and serve over your choice of rice or pasta.

Makes 4 servings.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

12 thoughts on “Easy Shrimp Scampi

  1. I’v found that most “italian” recipes on the internet are bland and NEVER have enough garlic…. in addition to the minced fresh garlic, I squeezed in an entire head of freshly roasted garlic, followed others and added a bit more wine… and a bit more for me… :-)…. absolutely delis!!!

  2. Pingback: easy scampi with homemade pasta « inasmallkitchen

  3. I add just a tad bit more wine to mine, but this recipe is AWESOME!! Comes out perfect every time and don’t be afraid to put that whole stick of butter in… It makes all the difference in the world!!

  4. I add a bit of clam juice to the wine. It comes out ok, but not as great as grilled shrimp… I had it once @ Tony Romas and it was sooo good, went back for more last week and found out they’re not serving it anymore 😦 I am still trying to find that magic recipe, anyone has an idea how to make a smoky and juicy grilled shrimp with garlic? 😦

  5. This looks really good, You ought to try Mussels in white wine sauce some time, thats really good too! Sautee some shallots and garlic in 2 tablespoons of Olive Oli. when shallots become transculsent add 4 tablespoons of butter, 1 cup white wine, 1/2 cup heavy cream and 2 lbs. Mussels, steam for about 7 or 8 minutes and garnish with some parsley. Make sure to use some good French bread for mopping!

  6. WOW! this is exactly what i do!!! a lot of people are scared of all that butter, but doesn’t it make it FANTASTIC!?

  7. I am going to try making this for my husband and I on Sunday. We have only been married 2 weeks, so far my cooking hasn’t run him off. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

