Tuesdays with Dorie

28 Comments

Rachel of Confessions of a Tangerine Tart chose today’s pick. You can find the recipe on her blog. If you want to see what all the TWDers are saying, check out Tuesdays with Dorie . Thank you, Rachel!

On to the cookies. I had such high hopes for these cookies because I LOVE malts and I LOVE whoppers and I LOVE chocolate. I was so excited to try one. I am disappointed because I don’t taste the malt flavoring at all. Don’t get me wrong, they are excellent chocolate cookies ~ just not malty enough for me.

As for the recipe itself, I didn’t see the oven temp anywhere in the recipe. I baked mine at 350º in my convection oven and they were perfect at 11 minutes.

I also liked that this recipe didn’t make a ton of cookies ~ since we all know that me + chocolate cookies = Nancy eats them all. I used my tablespoon scooper to make pretty evenly sized cookies. Oh and I used chocolate chips.

Happy Cooking!

28 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Wow – they look beautiful! I agree that they were not very malty, although for me, that’s an asset. I wonder what can be done to ramp up the malt flavor next time? More powder? I think someone mentioned malt syrup. Anyway, pretty pretty cookies!!

  2. Your cookies have the most amazing surface texture – I wonder if it’s the convection? Did you use regular malt powder? My cookies were really dark, but I used chocolate ovaltine and Special Dark cocoa powder. On the verge of too much chocolate. But not very malty.

  3. I actually upped the malt powder the second time around – it definitely helped, as did lowering the amount of chocolate. Good cookies either way, but the maltier the better, right?

  4. I agree – not nearly enough malt, which I was looking forward to! I wonder how we could make them taste really malty. I’ve heard malt syrup is good…

Leave a Reply

