My Famous Taco Salad

5 Comments

My friend Brenda shared this recipe with me when we lived on Cape Cod back in the 80’s. I loved it then and still love it today. It’s one of my recipes that I am always asked to bring to potlucks. Yesterday we went to a pool party at a friend’s house and brought it and was asked for the recipe.

I don’t really have measurements for the ingredients ~ it depends on how much I want to make. I’ll use guesstimates but please use your own judgment on amounts ~ if you like lots of onion, use more. I love tomatoes so I use more.

I forgot to take pictures of it until I had it in the container all gussied up ~ sorry about that.

My Famous Taco Salad

1/2 large onion, chopped
1/2 green pepper, chopped
4 large tomatoes, chopped
1 (16 ounce) bottle of Catalina dressing
1 tbsp chili powder (use more if you want it spicy)
1 pound ground beef, browned and fat drained off
2 cups of fritos
1 cup taco cheese or cheddar cheese, shredded

Place chopped, onion, green pepper, and tomatoes in a bowl. Pour entire bottle of catalina dressing over the vegetables and stir to combine. Stir in chili powder. Marinate in the fridge overnight.

Early the next day, add the cooked ground beef to the marinating veggies. Place back in the fridge so that the meat can cool. Just before serving, add the cheese and fritos. Store in the refrigerator.

Serves 4-6

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “My Famous Taco Salad

  1. i make the same thing but i dont like catalina dressing so i make it toca seasoning that i make my self. rest is the same and its always a hit 🙂

  2. I make this a lot. So easy. I like to pile mine on top of shredded lettuce and I use the big Frito chips. One time I didn’t have Fritos and used Doritos, worked great.

Leave a Reply

