Tuesdays with Dorie

9 Comments

Confession time ~ ever since my brother’s death, I have had the attention span of a gnat ~ and I think it is getting worse (too many worries). When I opened up to the recipe that was today’s pick, I just KNEW there was no way I was going to be able to make this and do it justice ~ my heart is just not in it right now. So I closed the book and worried about it for a couple of days. Then I decided I would look through the past picks and try and find something that didn’t have loads of directions and looked relatively easy to make. I chose to make the first recipe picked…Brown Sugar-Pecan Shortbread cookies. And I forgot to add the pecans. I give up.

I know that subbing another recipe is frowned upon but it’s the best I could do right now.

I apologize to Amy of Food, Family, and Fun and the TWD gang for not being able to complete this week’s pick.

Here’s a couple of pictures of the shortbread (which is delicious):

Happy Cooking!

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Hey no judgments from this quarter! Your shortbread looks amazing and I’m glad you liked it. Hey, pecans are overrated anyway…
    I’m sorry to hear of your loss. I’m saying a quick prayer for healing.
    – another Nancy

  2. I’m so sorry about your brother. Please don’t worry for a second about chosing a past recipe, I’m sure no one minds. The cookies look great, that’s a recipe I missed and want to try too. Many positive thoughts coming your way to get you through this rough time.

  3. Nancy, that is completely understandable & you mustn’t worry ! (The shortbread looked delicious anyway !)

    I finally made your “Cherry Cheese Turnover Cookies” but used peaches instead & adapted the recipe a little (turned them into pies !). I’ve posted the recipe & photo on my blog today if you’d like to have a look (tried to add the link here but it won’t work !)

    Thanks for being such an inspiration in the kitchen, and for all the great recipes you post ….

  4. Nancy, when my Dad died I also found I got very forgetful for a while. In fact I had all sorts of reactions — sometimes cranky, sometimes weepy, sometimes I would start talking and just babble…it was embarrassing, but as I’ve found out since, very normal. People have all kinds of reactions to grief and loss. You just have to ride it out, like waves on the ocean. It gets better, it really does — but even 21 years after, I still have moments of really missing my Dad.

Leave a Reply

