Choose Your Own Adventure Breadsticks (Bread Machine)

6 Comments

I made a trip out to the farm stands yesterday. I really wanted some corn on the cob and it’s delicious! I think we are probably at the end of the corn season and I’m lucky to have gotten some. I took a couple of pictures:

All these baskets are full of heirloom tomatoes

All these baskets are full of heirloom tomatoes

I love the green stripes on these watermelons

I love the green stripes on these watermelons

They also sell cut flowers

They also sell cut flowers

I love the color of this zinnia!

I love the color of this zinnia!

On to the breadsticks….

When my kids were young readers, they used to love the Choose Your Own Adventure books and these breadsticks reminded of those books becasue you can put anything you like on top of them. I used coarse salt on some and a garlic herb mixture that I bought from a friend. They are simple to make especially since the machine does all the kneading for me.

Choose Your Own Adventure Breadsticks

1 cup milk
2 tbsps vegetable oil
3 cups flour
2 tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp yeast
1 slightly beaten egg white
1 tbsp water
sesame seeds, caraway seeds, coarse salt, Parmesan cheese, Romano cheese, garlic salt or whatever adventure you choose

Put first 6 ingredients in your bread pan in the order recommended by the manufactuerer. Select dough cycle. When cycle complete, remove dough, punch down, cover nad let rest for 10 minutes. Grease baking sheets; set aside.

Divide dough into 32 portions (I only divided mine into 24 portions as I like my breadsticks bready). On a lightly floured surface, roll each portion into an 8-inch rope. Place sticks on prepared baking sheets. In a small bowl combine egg white and water and brush over breadsticks. Sprinkle with whatever adventure you choose.

Bake at 350º for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool slightly on wire racks. Serve warm or cool.

Makes 32 sticks.

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Choose Your Own Adventure Breadsticks (Bread Machine)

  1. Nancy, these look amazing. As a very novice bread maker (only because I received a bread machine as a gift) and after your Awesome Dinner Rolls were such a hit I’m going to attempt these bread sticks. Just have one question. After the dough has been shaped can I freeze them, or do I have to bake them first? Many thanks for enjoyable recipes.

  2. Breadsticks look wonderful. How about Cinnamon/Sugar toppijng. And I love open markets. Always fresh, always local, always good. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ohh those breadsticks look great! We love breadsticks although I haven’t made them in a while, I think I will have to give these a try, I’m sure my family will love them. I especially love recipes where I can let the bread machine do the kneading and rising 🙂

  4. Nancy, thanks for posting some photo’s of your trip out to the farm stands yesterday – the produce looks wonderful, & I loved the flowers, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

