Green Salad with Fruit, Sugared Almonds and Orange Vinaigrette

7 Comments

I really like fruit in my salad and when I came across this recipe I knew I would have to try it. I think you could leave out the almonds if you wanted and the salad would still be delicious. This recipe is perfect for a warm summer day.

I used whole almonds because that is what I had and it worked fine. I also used bagged salad greens because the heads of lettuce did not look very good at the store I went to.

Salad with Sugared Almonds and Orange Vinaigrette

Almonds:
1 egg white
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup sliced almonds
2 tbsps melted butter
Preheat oven to 325º. Beat egg white at high speed in a mixing bowl until foamy. Add sugar, 1 tbsp. at a time, beating until stiff peaks form. Fold in almonds. Spread mixture in 9×9 pan with the melted butter. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until nuts are dry, stirring every 5 to 10 minutes. Cool completely.

Orange Vinaigrette:
3/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1 tbsp. orange juice
1 tsp. grated orange rind
1/2 tsp poppy seeds
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper

Salad:
1 head Bibb lettuce, torn
1 head leaf letttuce, trn
1 (11 ounce) can mandarin oranges, drained
10 fresh strawberries, thinly sliced
1 green onion, chopped

Combine lettuces, oranges, strawberries, and green onion in a salad bowl.

Whisk all vinaigrette ingredients together in a bowl until smooth and well combined.

Add almonds and vinaigrette to salad and toss gently to coat all salad ingredients well.

Makes 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

7 thoughts on “Green Salad with Fruit, Sugared Almonds and Orange Vinaigrette

  1. Thank you for the inspiration, Nancy! I took your recipe as base for a dinner salad I made today. And for the strawberries… I baked them with balsamic vinegar, honey and olive oil first… Amazing!

  2. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Lettuce Salads (Six Recipe Ideas!)

  3. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Lettuce Salads (Six Recipe Ideas!)

Leave a Reply

