Cooked Chicken for Recipes ~ Barefoot Contessa Style

6 Comments

Whenever I needed cooked chicken for a recipe, I always poached it. I was never happy with the resulting dry chicken. I was watching Ina Garten one day and she showed how she cooked chicken for recipes so I tried it and the rest is history. The chicken comes out so moist and delicious ~ I never use any other way. In fact, I have a hard time not standing there and eating it when it comes out the oven.

If the chicken breasts are large, I let it go in the oven a little longer and it still comes out perfect. I have also used boneless chicken and baked for about 35 minutes.

Cooked Chicken for Recipes ~ Barefoot Contessa Style

2 chicken breasts, bone-in and skin on
2 teaspoons olive oil
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste

Place chicken breasts on baking sheet with sides (to catch the grease), skin side up. Rub olive oil on breasts and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake at 350º for 45 minutes. Cool, then chop or slice to use in your recipes.

Makes 2 cups of chopped, cooked chicken.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Cooked Chicken for Recipes ~ Barefoot Contessa Style

  1. Hi Nancy, I am new to your blog and absolutely love it! I have been making chicken breasts like this about once a week for the past month since I found your blog. I was wondering, do you know if the same overn temperature and cooking time work if I am using drumsticks? I am pretty new to cooking so I’m not sure if I need to alter the cooking times/temps. Thanks!

    • Hi Shelly!

      Yes, you could make the same recipe using drumsticks. If they are really big, just let it cook a little longer. You can stick a fork in the thick part of one to check to make sure the juices run clear. If you have anymore questions, ask away!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Jalapeno Rollups « A Recipe A Day

  3. Pingback: Roast Chicken Soup « A Recipe A Day

  4. We have seen some of the “Barefoot Contessa” on satellite TV here in Africa, & I like her relaxed cooking & entertaining style – this is a great way of cooking chicken – especially large quantities of it, thanks for sharing it with us, I think I might just try it next time !

Leave a Reply

