Caramelized Onion Foccacia (Bread Machine)

6 Comments

Can you believe it’s August already? I have no idea where the time goes.

I love this recipe! It makes a really big foccacia so I usually make it as a main dish and just add a salad. I love using the dough feature on my bread machine because I can just throw in the bread ingredients. I also have a bread proofing feature on my oven which lets dough rise ~ and really well, LOL! That I have to keep an eye on.

Caramelized Onion Foccacia

Foccacia:
3/4 cup water
2 tbsps olive oil
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsps yeast
3/4 mozzarella cheese, shredded
2 tbsps Parmesan cheese, shredded

Onion Topping:
3 tbsps butter
2 medium onions
2 cloves garlic, minced

Place all ingredients, except cheeses and onion topping, in your bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer.

When dough is finished, grease a pizza pan or cookie sheet.

Pat dough into a 12 inch circle on pan ~ this may take awhile as it likes to shrink back up but keep working at it and you will get it patted out. Cover and let rise in warm place for about 30 minutes or until almost double.

While the dough is rising, prepare the onion topping. Melt butter in skillet over medium-low heat. Cook onions and garlic in butter 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally until onions are brown and caramelized.

When dough has risen, heat oven to 400º. Make deep depressions in dough at 1 inch intervals with finger to handle of a wooden spoon. Spread topping over dough. Sprinkle with cheeses.

Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until edge is golden brown.

Cut into wedges and serve warm.

Serves 4-6

Happy Cooking!


6 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion Foccacia (Bread Machine)

  1. I made this for dinner. It was fantastic. My daughter who hates onions decided to give it a try because it looked so good, and even she loved it!

  2. Ooohhh … how clever to make such a nice, filling foccacia & serve it with a salad as a meal. Sounds like a great idea, I have never tried experimenting with different foccacia toppings (I usually just stick with ‘boring’ old rosemary and olive oil LOL) but you have inspired me to try something different next time ….

Leave a Reply

