Raspberry Muffins

1 Comment

I love raspberries! I think I could live on raspberries if I had to. They are so darn expensive around here ~ fresh ~ that I look for recipes that only use a small amount. This recipe only uses a cup and you can really taste the raspberry flavor.

This recipe makes a lot more streusel than you need for this recipe. I make it as the recipe says, use what I want on my muffins, then freeze the rest. I’ll have streusel ready the next time I want it. You can also cut it way down if you don’t want the extras.

Raspberry Muffins

Streusel
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup butter
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Muffins
1 1/2 cups flour
2 tsps baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup fresh raspberries or drained frozen raspberries

For the streusel, combine ingredients and combine with a fork or your fingertips. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 400º.

Combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl and mix well. Stir in both sugars. Add the milk, butter and egg and stir until all ingredients are combined.

Fold in the raspberries being careful not to break up the raspberries. I find that this is impossible to do so I just do the best I can.

Spoon into paper-lined muffin cups and sprinkle with streusel.

Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in middle of a muffin comes out clean.

The recipe says it makes 12 muffins but I only make 10 as I fill my muffin cups to the top.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Raspberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

