Tuesdays with Dorie

25 Comments

Michelle from Michelle in Colorado Springs chose this week’s selection ~ you can also find the recipe there. If you want to see what all the fun is about check out Tuesdays with Dorie .

I chose to use peaches and blueberries for my galette since they scream summer and they were both on sale this week, LOL! I have made a few galettes before but I had trouble with the crust on this one ~ I have no idea why. I was able to do a patch job here and there and it came out OK but NOT picture perfect. I know there will better looking ones from all my fellow bakers out there.

Before adding custard

Before adding custard

I used apricot jam on the bottom of the crust but I didn’t taste it at all in the finished product. The peaches I used were huge so I sliced them up instead of halving them. I ended up with some fruit leftover. I didn’t use too much of the custard part, either. Just about 2 or 3 tablespoons.

The verdict? 2 thumbs up for deliciousness ~ we loved the flavor and the peaches and blueberries were a good choice. Making this seemed inordinately hard for me ~ especially since I have made them before BUT I will try this again using different seasonal fruit. All in all, another good choice!

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

Happy Cooking!

25 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. I love the color contrast between the peaches and the blueberries.

    I’m starting to wonder what I did wrong (or differently) though; I used twice the fruit called for and I still had no problem employing all of the custard. Go figure.

  2. I like the combination of blueberries and peaches. I’m wondering how red raspberries would work?

  3. Peaches and berries, I did that to and the combo was amazing! Great job and I was wondering how it would turn out with apricot jam, next time I will try it that way!

  4. I am impressed with how pretty yours turned out! I had just made a peach and blueberry crisp over the weekend or that would have been my choice too!

  5. YUMMM looks great!!
    I also included blueberries and peaches, as well as other fruits too…they worked out very good.
    I had trouble with the crust too! I think it was because it was so thin, it kept breaking…oh well!
    Great job!

  6. The peaches and the berries together look tasty, and I’m not very big on peaches! It was delicious and pretty easy to make, and I will definitely be making this one again. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

