Brownie Bites

3 Comments

When my kids were young and in elementary school, they used to love those Hostess brand little bags of mini brownie muffins. I never liked buying them for a few reasons so I went on a hunt to try and find something that they would like instead. This recipe was it! I would put a few in a ziplock and they were happy ~ and so was I.

This recipe is easy and although it says it makes 40, I’ve never made that many ~ more like 32 or so. Sometimes I put the nut on the top, sometimes I don’t. I used pecans when I made them today because that’s what I had in my freezer here in the kitchen.

This recipe would be great for a bake sale ~ the elementary school my kids went to used to have bake sales with each grade’s Moms and Dads supplying the treats. I used to make lots of goodies but these I would put 5 in a bag and charge around 50 cents. We would sell out every time.

Brownie Bites

1/2 cup butter
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
1 cup flour
walnut or pecan halves, optional

In a medium-sized pan, melt butter and chocolate over low heat. Stir occasionally until it is melted and smooth.

Remove pan from heat and stir in the sugar and vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, stirring well after each addition. Stir in flour.

Spoon batter into mini muffin pans sprayed with cooking spray. You can also use mini muffin paper liners, too. Fill cups almost to the top and place a nut half on the top of each.

Bake at 325º for about 20 minutes (I use my convection oven and bake about 15 minutes) or until tops of brownies look dry and are firm when lightly touched.

Let cool in pans for 10 minutes then place brownie bites on a rack to col completely. Store in an airtight container.

Makes 40 brownie bites ~ or 32 in my case.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Brownie Bites

Leave a Reply

