Cherry Cream Cheese Turnover Cookies

3 Comments

I have been busy today and we have been having thunderstorms off and on all afternoon ~ we are actually having one right now ~ I hope my computer doesn’t fry.

I found this recipe in a cookbook called Cape May Fare and it’s surprisingly good. I guess all the cherries in the TWD weren’t enough, LOL! At least this time, the recipe called for cherry pie filling so no pitting involved.

The recipe is easy and I experimented with 2 different sizes of turnover and it’s definitely easier to make with the bigger size. I like the smaller size better and I think they would be great for a party or cookie exchange ~ just something different. The recipe called for squares but I used a couple of sizes of round biscuit cutters instead.

The dough mixed up in my KA:

Cut out rounds ~ I did about 2 inch and 3 inch:

Ready to go in the oven:

Out of the oven, cooled and sprinkled with powdered sugar:

Ready to eat:

Cherry Cream Cheese Turnover Cookies

1 (8 ounce) cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
pinch of salt
1 can cherry pie filling (I had about 2/3 left over)
Powdered sugar

Blend the cream cheese and butter. Add vanilla and blend well. Add flour and salt and mix well. Pat in disc, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Roll out on a floured surface and cut into 2 or 3 inch rounds. Place 1 or 2 cherries from the pie filling into the center and carefully fold over and seal edges with a fork.

Place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350º for about 20 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely as filling is HOT. Dust with powdered sugar.

Made about 28 cookies.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Cherry Cream Cheese Turnover Cookies

  1. Hi Nancy – just wanted to let you know that I made these and they were delicious ! I used peach halves in place of the cherries and adapted the recipe a little for African conditions (!!) and made them into pies. I did a blog post with the recipe which you can see on my blog (tried to post the link but I keep getting an error message)
    Thanks for the inspiration 😉

  2. Hi Nancy
    Ooohhh … these look delicious & quite easy to make, too. We don’t get cherries here easily but I’m sure I could substitute another fruit for the filling & they’d be just as yummy !

Leave a Reply

