Tuesdays with Dorie

27 Comments

Amanda from Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake made the pick for this week. Check out Tuesdays with Dorie to see what all the bakers have done this week or to join in the fun!

Obviously, from the picture, I used a different sized pan for mine. I couldn’t fit all the filling in my 8 inch pan and the cherries were expensive so I was bound and determined to use all the filling. So I made an executive decision and used my 9×13 pan. The cobbler topping doesn’t look as nice but it tastes divine.

I am a rhubarb lover ~ my Nana had a huge rhubarb patch when I was growing up and she made the best rhubarb pies. Even my DH who is NOT a rhubarb lover, liked this dessert. Usually rhubarb is paired with strawberries so I was glad to see the cherries instead.

My dough:

Rolled up dough:

The filling all mixed up:

Ready to go in the oven:

All baked and ready to eat:

What I didn’t like about this recipe ~ I HATE PITTING CHERRIES! My fingers are still purple and I can’t get it off, LOL! I would cheerfully pay someone to pit the cherries next time.

Except for the cherry pitting, we enjoyed this recipe.

Happy Cooking!

27 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. I agree with Aaliyah, pitting cherries is much nicer done in a group. I didn’t pit the cherries for this recipe (bought them frozen) but my husband and I pitted cherries together for a pie a couple of weeks ago. We had fun squirting cherry juice at each other. It did make the job go faster.

  2. Your cobbler looks wonderful. I bet pitting cherries is better done in a group where you can talk and pit at the same time. My daughter flaked out on me again because of her visiting friend so there I was ALONE massacreing cherries.

    I like your photos and look forward to your post next week!

  3. It’s interesting to hear different perspectives. I find cherry pitting (like most “mindless” prep work in the kitchen) to be centering, soothing, and somewhat cathartic. But my fingers were tinged purple for days after this recipe.

  4. I pit my cherries by fingers and I looked like I had murdered someone! HAHA. Glad you enjoyed the cobbler! Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  5. Thanks, everyone for the great comments! I do have a cherry pitter and I used it but still managed to turn my fingers purple (and they still are to a small extent). If you knew me IRL, you wouldn’t be surprised, LOL! It’s just a tedious job that I doubt I’ll be doing very often πŸ™‚

  6. Pitting cherries is the pits ; ) When my husband and I were newly weds he pitted a bucket full of cherries for me, on the living romm floor, over one of our new towels(it was white) we recieved for a wedding gift. That was 19 years ago, he knows better now!! Your pictures are lovely. I especially love your fruit mixture seletion..YUM!!

  7. Your cobbler looks great. I went for frozen (pitted) cherries.
    I want the OXO Good Grips cherry pitter with the splatter shield. If only I could find one!

  8. Your cobbler looks perfect Nancy, nice job!

    My Aunt has a cherry pitter that is pretty nice… this recipe almost made me go buy one! πŸ™‚

  9. Your cobbler looks wonderful, glad your husband liked it πŸ™‚ Somehow I managed to not get purple fingers, but the pitting was a bit tedious.

  10. Glad you and the DH both liked it. I agree, pitting all of them is a pain – I went with pre-pitted frozen ones just to avert the purple fingers thing!

Leave a Reply

