Lemon Horseradish Potatoes (and a comment on food blogs)

5 Comments

There are so many really great food blogs out there in cyber world. I have been visiting some of them over the past couple couple of days (adding many to my links) and there are some great writers and fabulous photographers out there. My blog pales in comparision to most and I am always appreciative of everyone’s visits and comments. I started my blog for a couple of reasons, one of which was to try and become a better writer (I am BAD) and a better photographer (I think I am getting better at that) and with so much inspiration, how can I not improve. Thank you to all of you who work so hard on your blogs!!!!

POTATOES!

I am Irish (totally) and I guess the potato gene was passed on to me big time because I LOVE them. I can remember my grandmother having potatoes at two meals at least and we had them at one ~ I don’t remember having rice or anything like that. I have had potatoes every way imaginable so I am always on the lookout for new recipes. Plain old mashed potatoes are my favorite and there are certain main dishes I make that just scream for mashed potatoes ~ I even make those dishes sometimes just for the potatoes. The only way I don’t like potatoes is just boiled ~ although I think there is a place for them, I just don’t like them much…unless you are making my Mom’s goulash and then you have to have boiled potatoes and buttered white bread.

I found the recipe for lemon horseradish potatoes in a community cookbook called The Heart OF Pittsburgh. There are lots of great recipes in the book but I honed in on the potato recipes. I love horseradish so anything with horseradish is good in my book. I just love the spiciness of it. I used some different new potatoes that I bought at the farm stand ~ and, yes, dear hubby, you CAN eat a potato that is blue. I halved the larger ones and left the smaller ones whole. I peeled a strip off the middle of the larger ones.

Lemon Horseradish Potatoes

1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
2 tbsps horseradish
8 small new potaotes
2-3 tsps lemon juice, to taste
1/4 cup snipped fresh parsley

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a small bowl, combine olive oil, salt, pepper, and horseradish and set aside.

Wash potatoes and peel a strip off around the middle (if your potatoes are large enough). Place in a glass casserole large enough so that the potatoes are in a single layer ~ about a 1 1/2 to 2 quart pan should work.

Pour olive oil mixture over the top and stir to make sure all the potatoes are coated completely. Cover and bake for 50 minutes, stirring every 20 minutes or so.

When cooking is complete, add lemon juice and parsley, stirring gently to combine.

Serve hot.

Serves 4.

Happy Cooking (and blogging)!

5 thoughts on “Lemon Horseradish Potatoes (and a comment on food blogs)

  1. I am trying these potatoes tonight. I love potatoes and had to crack up when you said you do not really like boiled potatoes. I can not eat a boiled potato. I have been married almost 43 years and have never served a boiled potato in my house.

  2. Warning.
    Jalapeños can be hot. Use rubber gloves when handling.
    I made it last week and use one small jalapenos and it was to hot to eat.
    Will add jalapenos a little at a time.
    Thank you for the visit. The lemon horseradish potatoes look so yummy. Will have to try this.

  3. Hmm, I had horseradish duchess potatoes once at a work function in a nice hotel… they were way too horseradish-y for my likes, but this lemon-horseradish combo piques my interest…

Leave a Reply

