It’s All Greek To Me!

3 Comments

Well, DH is home so it’s time to get back into the swing of things!

Yesterday, I received the cookbooks that I have some recipes included in. They are by Gooseberry Patch. If you don’t know what Gooseberry Patch is, check out the link. They have a line of cookbooks that anyone can send recipes in for and if yours is chosen, you get the book free. Free is always a good thing. I have my Garlic Smashed Potatoes in Super-Fast Slow Cooking Cookbook, Jam Turnover Cookies and Mini Chip Shortbread (different than the one I already posted here) in Christmas Cookie Jar Cookbook, and The Perfect Turkey in Harvest Kitchen. I have recipes in other books, too. If you like community -type cookbooks, you’ll love these books.

On to today’s recipes…

I LOVE Greek food. Since I have yet to find a Greek restaurant around here, I make it myself. The recipe for kebabs is super easy. I use chicken tenderloins because I am basically lazy and don’t particularly like cubing up chicken. I didn’t do the veggie part this time but when I do, I put the veggies on their own sticks since they cook differently than the chicken and I don’t want them overdone. I found this recipe in a community cookbook called Mardi Gras to Mistletoe.

Greek Chicken Kabobs

Marinade:
1/2 c extra virgin olive oil
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
Juice of 1 lemon
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

Kebabs:
2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces (or use tenderloins)
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 green pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 red onion, cut into 1 inch pieces
8 ounces whole button mushrooms or cremini mushrooms

Whisk the marinade ingredients in a bowl and pour all but a couple of tbsps into a ziplock bag. Keep unused marinade in the refrigerator for basting veggies while grilling. Add the chicken cubes or tenderloins and marinate for 4 hours or longer. Drain chicken. Discard marinade.

Thread chicken on skewers and veggies on their own skewers. Brush veggie skewers with reserved marinade. Start grilling chicken first. It will take about 15-20 minutes or until thoroughly cooked and no pink remains. Put veggie skewers on grill about 10 minutes before chicken is done.

Serves 4 to 6

Photobucket

This next recipe is a really nice pasta salad with all the classic Greek flavors. It’s super easy to boot. I used grape tomatoes and a cuke from my garden. This recipe was recently in my newspaper but didn’t give credit to anyone.

Greek-Style Orzo Salad

1 pound orzo pasta
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 pound tomatoes, diced
1 English cucumber, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1/3 cup Kalamata olives, coarsely chopped
8 ounces Feta cheese, crumbled
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil and prepare orzo according to the package. Drain the pasta and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice and olive oil and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the vegetables, cheese, and orzo. Pour the dressing over the top and gently combine to coat all ingredients. Add salt and pepper just before serving.

Serves 10-12

Photobucket

I also made Greek Garlic Bread and you can click on the link to get the recipe from Recipezaar.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “It’s All Greek To Me!

  1. Hi Nancy Wills kitchen here. The chicken looks great. We love Greek Food, Jackson has a Greek Festival every year and we go and pig out on all the authentic food and get a few things to bring home. We will have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

