Tuesdays with Dorie

26 Comments

This week’s pick came from Amy at South in Your Mouth and don’t forget to check out Tuesdays with Dorie.

I really liked doing this week’s challenge. Years ago when my kids were little, I used to make my pie crusts but between moving, etc., etc., I started buying the already made ones and using those. I don’t know why I ever quit making my own. The difference between homemade and store-bought is night and day.

I didn’t have any problems making this pie crust ~ I think I could have added a tbsp. more water to it but that will come with more practice. I did have to patch the crust in a couple places but once it was baked nobody could tell where I had done it.

Here are some photos of my process:

I bought my blueberries from the farm stand (they were NC blueberries) and they were so nice and sweet I had a hard time not popping them into my mouth as I went along.

I know that it is frowned upon to keep pies in the fridge but it is so humid here that if I didn’t, it would be mold within a day or two (even with the a/c on) ~ and I LIKE cold pie.

We give this recipe a BIG thumbs up ~ it’ll make a regular appearance during blueberry season.

Happy Cooking!

26 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Beautiful pie 🙂 Your pictures remind me so much of the way my pie turned out, wasn’t it a wonderful recipe? I’m sorry about your husband, I hope he is doing better soon.

  2. Oh good– I feel better now. I kept my pie in the fridge, too, mostly because it’s just me and eating an entire half recipe of pie in a couple of days seemed like a colossally bad idea.

    Nothing like fruit stand produce! Your pie looks great.

  3. oh yeah, that’s what i’ll be dreaming about tonight. what a gorgeous crust draped around some beautiful blueberries. you do good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

