Grilled Bourbon Chicken #1

12 Comments

Before I get into today’s recipe, I have a food dilemma ~ DS’s friend gave me 8 heads of cabbage…besides cole slaw and cabbage rolls, does anyone have any ideas for me? Please?

On to the recipe……

I say #1 because I have a couple recipes for grilled bourbon chicken that are similar but not exactly the same and this helps me to keep them straight.

The weather was weird yesterday so I used my indoor grill pan and I used thin sliced chicken which only takes a couple of minutes on each side. Gosh, I LOVE thin-sliced chicken. Has anyone else noticed how HUGE chicken pieces are now? The thin sliced are nice and small and trimmed ~ YAY!

I love cooking with bourbon ~ the flavor is just terrific.

On the grill:

Ready to eat:

Grilled Bourbon Chicken #1

1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast halves
2 tbsps olive oil
2 tbsps Dijon mustard
1/4 cup bourbon
2 tbsps red wine vinegar
2 tbsps Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsps soy sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 garlic cloves, minced

Combine olive oil and the next 7 ingredients in a ziplock bag. Add the chicken and marinate in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or as long as overnight.

Remove chicken from marinade and discard the marinade.

Place chicken on the grill and cook over medium heat. Grill for 15-20 minutes, turning once, until chicken is cooked through and no pink remains.

Serves 4

My zucchini plants have exploded in my garden so I threw some zucchini slices on the grill pan ~ I just used olive oil, salt and pepper on each side and grilled until softened.

I also made some delicious zucchini bread ~ you can find the Zucchini Bread recipe on Recipezaar

This quick bread is so nice and spicy ~ it’s my favorite and even my zucchini-hating DH eats it 🙂

Happy Cooking!

12 thoughts on “Grilled Bourbon Chicken #1

  1. One of my favorite polish recipe’s is Cabbage & Noodles. Simply fry your cabbage in a large skillet with olive oil & a little butter, onion & garlic if you like or fine without too. Cook slow & covered until cabbage is almost done then you can turn the heat up & brown just a little. While your cabbage is cooking boil your noodles. Try to have both done around the same time. Mix together & add more Butter…no substitutes…real butter. Reheats well.

  2. Grilled cabbage is absolutely awesome!! I could eat it daily.. Chop it season it salt and Pepper or my favorite Cavenders Greek seasoning. Several pats of butter, enclose in foil and put on grill prior to any other meat as it does take a while. then eat!!. Most ppl who dislike cabbage love this simple tasty cabbage treat.

    phelps

  3. Bake cabbage on the grill! Place 2 pieces of foil on counter, add a slice of bacon, slice of onion , quarter of cabbage, pat of butter , then salt and pepper to taste. Wrap foil around to seal. Cook over coals for approx. 50 min (more or less depends on the size of your cabbage really). We like the first couple of layers burned :). Enjoy. I would like to know how this turns out for anyone that tries it. We just love to do this in the summer however, you can do the same in an iron skillet, only you cut up your cabbage to bite size pieces and fry! YUM

  4. Yeah!

    I already have those little bottles. I’m going to try this when DH is home. I know he’ll love it!

    Thanks!

  5. Hi Cheap!

    You can use cheap bourbon ~ you can even just buy those little airline bottles and use one whole one ~ it’s close enough to 1/4 cup.

  6. Hi Nancy!

    Do you use a specific bourbon for cooking or will an inexpensive brand work in the recipe? It looks yummy!

    Cheapie

  7. My southern grandmother makes fried cabbage…I have adjusted toi make it is olive oil and chicken broth but it is an awesome side dish…saute a chopped onion if you like them in olive oil add one head of chopped cabbage 1-1.5 inch strips and saute for a few minutes then season with salt pepper and crushed red pepper and maybe some cajun seasoning if you like and add a cup or so of broth and simmer until cooked maybe 20 25 minutes and enjoy

  8. Hi Nancy

    Well the first thing that came to mind when you told us about all your excess cabbage was … Sauerkraut or maybe a pickled cabbage ? Or maybe a nice soup with cabbage in it ?

    I also have a lot of Zucchini at the moment and am just about to post a Zucchini salad recipe on my blog which I made over the weekend ! I’ve never tried Zucchini bread before, but that’s a great idea !

    Bye for now
    Lynda

  9. Joe ~ I am doing them as is ~ I buy thin sliced raw chicken (I think it’s Perdue) from a warehouse club. It’s about as thin as scallopini and it cooks super fast. It’s a little thin to do on the outside grill but great for the grill pan. I buy the regular boneless chicken for the outside grill.

    Most of these recipes are ones that I have made before at one time or another but I make them again to take pictures ~ and nobody in the house complains about it, LOL!

  10. I don’t know how to you can cook something new each day. Keep up the good work though. It is fun to come check out what is next each day! I am curious though with the chicken. Are you pounding them or just doing them out of the bag as is?

  11. Cabbage is great on fish tacos, which would be nice and summery. Other than that and coleslaw, I have no other ideas. But zucchini bread – now that’s some wonderful stuff.

Leave a Reply

