Tuesdays with Dorie

17 Comments

This week’s pick was by Karina of The Floured Apron and she has a really nice blog ~ check it out!

Well, I made such a production out of making these yesterday. I think there are days that I shouldn’t even be allowed in a kitchen, LOL!

Let’s see…I only had a small, uneven piece of parchment paper left, I dumped my big flour bucket on the floor, and I used my convection oven to bake these and I think they are a little overdone. At least I got them done.

I had a dickens of a time finding dried apples but I did 🙂 I used Simply Apple apple juice since it’s pure pressed apple juice.

My dough patted in a rectangle:

My scones on the baking sheet (notice the funky parchment paper):

Baked and ready to eat:

Everyone who was home yesterday tried one and we thought they were OK but nothing special. In fact, I couldn’t even taste the flavors of the apple or the cheddar ~ we thought it tasted much like cornbread. I do think these would be good with meals that you typically serve cornbread with just for a change of pace.

Happy Cooking!

17 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Your scones look great! I thought they were a bit on the mild side too, but we still enjoyed them a lot. Good for you for “baking through adversity!”

  2. LOL at the parchment paper. I can’t tell you how many times that’s happened to me. I’ve been using aluminum foil this week because I’m too lazy to go to the store!

    Sorry to hear that your family wasn’t a huge fan. My husband also thought it was cornbread. I think next time I make these I’ll leave bigger chunks of both the apple and the cheese.

  3. I have weeks like that, where I shouldn’t be left unsupervised in the kitchen. Glad to see you got through the day and the assignment unscathed. Your scones *look* great!

  4. Mmmmmm! My Grandmother used to use the rim of a floured glass to make her scones round, and it seemed to work for her! Now that I have your recipe I will make some and think of her.

    Had to visit your blog, cuz my name’s Nancy too… and you know us Nancys gotta stick together!

  5. The flavors might not have worked for you, but your scones look great! I used a good extra-sharp cheddar and went a little heavy with it, and I think next time I might dice it instead of grating it, in order to get more cheesey goodness!

Leave a Reply

