Grilled Pineapple with Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream

4 Comments

We lived in Hawaii for a few years and the pineapples were out of this world ~ and very inexpensive, too. They made ice cream out of pineapples (Dole whip for those of you who have had it) that I still think about (the Dole whips at Disney World do not do the whips in Hawaii justice). Anyway, every time I have pineapple, I think about Hawaii. I use lots of pineapple in my kitchen and am always looking for new ways to use it.

This dessert is really good after a heavy barbecue meal. Grilling the pineapple really seems to bring out the sweetness to me. Since the ice cream starts with storebought, it’s easy as well which everyone knows I love. The original recipe came from Coastal Living. This is an old picture and I’ll add a new one when I make it again.

Grilled Pineapple with Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream

Pineapple:
1 fresh pineapple
3 tablespoons light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream:
1 quart vanilla ice cream
1/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Pineapple:
Peel pineapple, remove and discard pineapple core. Cut pineapple into halves lengthwise. Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, and ginger and rub evenly over pineapple. Heat grill to medium-high. Place pineapple on grill. Grill, covered with lid, 5 to 7 minutes on each side. Remove from grill, cut into 1/4 inch slices. Serve with vanilla cinnamon ice cream.

Ice cream:
Stir together all ingredients. Freeze 1 hour.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Grilled Pineapple with Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream

  1. I’m trying this tonight as we are having guests over- hopefully it will go over well- I LOVE grilled pineapple and love cinnamon in my vanilla ice cream and the combo sounds fabulous!

  2. Grace ~ I just think it’s a hoot that you are in Amsterdam 🙂 There are no hidden gems there anymore although I hear they are getting a Target, LOL! It was a great place to grow up.

  3. the magic word for me is cinnamon–i can’t get enough of the stuff! this looks simply delicious.

    so it seems you and i have traded places! any hidden gems in amsterdam i need to know about?

Leave a Reply

