Chocolate Chip Shortbread Squares

7 Comments

Yeah, I know these aren’t grilled and I know I already made one post today but I made these yesterday and I think they would be terrific for a picnic or barbecue. They taste like shortbread with chocolate chips and frosting. Can’t go wrong with chocolate 🙂 The recipe came with the info on a new 13×9 pan I bought. And……I think I may have figured out my camera so hopefully there will be better pictures in this blog’s future!

Chocolate Chip Shortbread Squares

1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/4 cups flour
1 12 ounce bag semi-sweet chocolate mini morsels, divided

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Beat in the egg and the vanilla. Gradually add in the flour and beat well after each addition. Stir in 1 cup of the mini chocolate morsels.

Press this mixture onto the bottom of an ungreased 9×13 baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes or until top lightly browned. Immediately sprinkle with the rest of the mini chocolate morsels left in the bag. Let stand for 5 minutes or so until the morsels are shiny then spread evenly covering the entire top of the shortbread.

Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into squares.

Happy Cooking!

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Shortbread Squares

  1. i tried making this recipe and i followed it off to a t. but it didnt work for me. the top cooked and the rest didnt. i didnt changed any of the recipe?? im guessing this recipe of ur site is just WRONG!!!

    • No, the recipe is correct. This has always worked for me and I follow the recipe. What exactly did you do as there are many factors that can affect baking and maybe I can help 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Shortbread « Sean and Jess's Blog

Leave a Reply

