Tuesdays with Dorie ~ Mixed Berry Cobbler

17 Comments

Today is my very first post for the Tuesdays with Dorie weekly challenge.

Beth from Our Sweet Life chose the Mixed Berry Cobbler for this week’s challenge.

I was *really* apprehensive about this recipe once I saw that it had a biscuit top. I have NEVER successfully made any kind of biscuits (except from a can) in my whole life. I am biscuit challenged. Well, I plunged into the recipe and I actually did it! I don’t think I rolled out the biscuit thin enough but I was on a roll and felt that if I messed with it too much it would be really tough.

I see this recipe as an old-fashioned cobbler like my Nanas used to make. The consensus at my house is that it is DELICIOUS!!!

I really think this recipe gave me the gumption to keep plugging away at biscuit making. If anyone has any tips, I’d love to hear them πŸ™‚

Here are some pictures of my cobbler:

Happy Cooking!

17 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie ~ Mixed Berry Cobbler

  1. Welcome and congratulations on your first post with TWD!

    Biscuit tips: make sure to keep the butter cold–don’t let it get too soft. Put your bowl in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes if it seems to be softening up too much.
    Once you add the liquid, don’t overwork the dough.
    A moist dough and a very hot oven (400 or 425 if you’re baking them alone without fruit under them) makes the lightest, fluffiest biscuits.
    Biscuits are fun! And scones (next week’s recipe) are a close relative to them, so you’ll get more practice…

  2. We’d like to invite you to participate in our July berry recipe contest. All competitors will be placed on our blogroll, and the winner will receive a fun prize! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details. (Click on my name in the message header link to visit our blog. πŸ™‚

  3. Welcome to TWD and congrats on completing your first challenge! I hope you will enjoy baking Dorie’s recipes as much as I do πŸ™‚

    Have a delicious day!

  4. Welcome to the group, I am sure you will really enjoy it! They have taken me to new levels in baking and I really love the group.

    Your cobbler looks and sounds warm and inviting.

  5. mine is in the oven as i write and yours is making me drool! πŸ˜‰
    good job with the topping! i too was afraid to over work it. we’ll see in about 40 minutes how mine turned out.
    isn’t this what the TWD group is all about? expanding our cooking horizions? good for you.
    enjoy!
    melly~

  6. welcome to TWD! I wasn’t a huge fan of the biscuit on the cobbler, but you are right that it was inspiring to make savory biscuits, as I think it would be very nice for that! great point!

Leave a Reply

