Southwestern Grilled Chicken

3 Comments

Today starts two weeks of barbecue, grilling, and picnic recipes. I love summer and we spend lots of time on the deck grilling, firing up the smoker, and just enjoying the outdoors. My dream is to have an outdoor kitchen. Our house backs up to woods so we get lots of critters to drive the dogs nuts but I could do without the copperheads.

This recipe can be made with any cut of chicken ~ I used drumsticks and thighs. For being so simple, it’s very flavorful and not too spicy.

Southwestern Grilled Chicken

2 tbsps olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken or an equivalent of your favorite cuts

Combine all the ingredients, except chicken, in a small bowl and mix to blend well. Brush mixture over the chicken, coating well. Grill chicken until cooked and no pink remains.

Serve with shredded cheese, shredded lettuce, chopped cilantro or parsley, chopped black olives, if desired.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Southwestern Grilled Chicken

  1. TK~ Thank you for your comment! Actually, the chicken turned out really moist and flavorful since the drumsticks and thighs are dark meat and naturally more moist than white. If I used the white meat, I would make sure to pound it out to make it all the same thickness before grilling. I have never had papaya paste (although papaya is my favorite fruit) and I know I would never find it around here. If you try it, please let me know how it turns out. I love it when people take a recipe and “make it their own”. Thanks for visiting and I hope you’ll be back!

  2. Although your recipe is good but i think there is something missing because as the chicken pieces used in the picture are very thick enough so just by grilling it would not become tender completely. Well! my suggestion is that either you may add papaya paste in it or steam for a few while before grilling then grill it.
    What do you think?

Leave a Reply

