Trip to the Farm Stands, Hot Weather Meal Idea and My Mom’s Salad Dressing

2 Comments

We made our first trip to the farm stands out in Pungo today and we weren’t disappointed. Here are some pics of my haul:

I will be making peach muffins later today with some of the peaches. I am going to freeze the blackberries and strawberries. At some point this week, we’ll have the potatoes, probably roasted with herbs. The rest I will use up this week for our meals. Next week I will buy a half bushel of peaches to cut up and freeze. The sweet corn should be ready in another week or so ~ can’t wait for that. We’ll probably go just about every Saturday or Sunday to supplement our vegetable garden and to buy bigger quantities to put up for the winter.

It’s really hot today so I made a Chef’s salad for lunch. It’s easy to make, no recipe, and you can use whatever you like in your salads. I keep all the veggies separate since we all like different things in our salads.

Salad with Meat and Cheese:

Veggies to add to salad:

I also put out sliced hard boiled eggs, croutons and real bacon bits. None of us can agree on a salad dressing so everyone uses their favorite.

My Mom’s Quick Salad Dressing

Mix:
2 tbsp mayonnaise
2 tbsp sugar
Add:
2 tbsp oil (vegetable, canola, olive, use your favorite) I like canola in this recipe
2 tbsp red wine vinegar

Whisk all together and store in refrigerator until ready to serve. Pour over salad and toss.

This dressing is not low calorie but it really hits the spot every once in awhile.

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Trip to the Farm Stands, Hot Weather Meal Idea and My Mom’s Salad Dressing

  1. Hi,I am visiting (from Ireland) your farm stands sound very like our farmers markets here but we do not have such exotic fare! Enjoying reading your recipes will be back for more details to try some. Adding to my blog, keep the recipes coming. Have a good day .Peggy

Leave a Reply

