Grilled Jalapeno Poppers

Leave a comment

I am adding a photo of Neely’s Creole Potato Salad to that post ~ I made it yesterday and it is DELICIOUS!

These aren’t true poppers but close enough that you get the idea. I use a perforated baking sheet on my grill (specifically for grilling) that I bought at BJ’s. It’s worth it’s weight in gold if you like to make complete meals on the grill like we do. Anyway, the recipe is easy to make ~ the hardest part for me is getting rid of the ribs and seeds and NOT touching my face while I am doing it. Yes, I did it this time, too. I left off the bacon bits off most of them because DH doesn’t care for bacon on anything (sacrilege, I know) but I put it on a couple for myself. I found that it was easier to sprinkle the bacon bits on after the cheese started melting as it “stuck” better. They would be a great starter for a barbecue. THe recipe came from Simple and Delicious.

Grilled Jalapeno Poppers

8 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, cut into 2×1/2 inch strips
15 jalapeno peppers, halved, seeds and ribs removed
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup real bacon bits

Place a cheese strip in each pepper half. Sprinkle with the bread crumbs and bacon. Grill, covered, over medium-hot heat or until peppers are tender and cheese is melted. Serve warm

30 appetizers

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

