Chicken Enchiladas with my Famous Sangria

1 Comment

First off, I am putting two new recipes up in Try This so check it out. I also posted a new cookbook on my other blog The World on a Plate

So, here is my recipe for Chicken Enchiladas ~ I think it came from Southern Living but I could be wrong about that. It’s easy to make and tastes great although it is far from authentic enchiladas. I am one of those people for whom cilantro tastes like soap so I omit it or sub fresh chopped parsley. The parsley does not taste the same but it does add a freshness to the filling. I like to serve these with my guacamole (which I will post in the future).

Chicken Enchiladas

3 cups chopped cooked chicken

2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

1 (4.5 ounce) can chopped green chilies, drained (fire roasted chilies are very good in this)

1/3 cup chopped cilantro

8 (8 inch) flour tortillas

1 (8 ounce) carton sour cream

1 (8 ounce) jar salsa

Stir together the first 5 ingredients. Spoon this mixture evenly down the center of each tortilla and roll up. Arrange, seam side down in a lightly greased 13×9 pan. Coat tortillas with cooking spray.

Bake at 350º for 35 to 40 minutes or until golden brown.

Stir together the sour cream and salsa. Spoon over hot enchiladas. Sprinkle with your favorite toppings such as chopped tomatoes, chopped green onions, olives, cilantro, etc.

Photobucket

My famous sangria is not really my recipe ~ I got it off an old AOL food board and I have no idea who posted it. It is a winner! It’s fairly potent, too. It’s only famous because of the amount of requests I get for it, LOL! I always make it ahead, up to the point of adding the club soda.  Thank you to whoever posted this recipe ~ it’s a keeper!

My Famous Sangria

1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup sugar
3 1/4 cups dry red wine
1/4 cup brandy
7 ounces club soda, chilled
1 cup sliced fruit

Into a large pitcher, pour lemon juice, orange juice, and sugar, stir to dissolve. Stir in remaining ingredients.

To Serve: Pour into glasses, making sure that each person gets some fruit. Serve chilled.

One thought on “Chicken Enchiladas with my Famous Sangria

Leave a Reply

