Very Easy Enchilada Sauce

4 Comments

I came across an enchilada pasta bake a few weeks ago on pinterest and along with that recipe was a recipe for enchilada sauce.  The ingredients were some that I already had in my pantry so I gave it a shot.  Anything is better than the stuff in the can.  It was so easy to make and tasted fantastic!  I used it all for my pasta bake and then I made it again when I reheated the pasta bake to add into the casserole so it wouldn’t dry out.

With Cinco de Mayo coming up, give this a try if you are making enchiladas.  It’s fantastic!

Easy Enchilada Sauce

Red Enchilada Sauce

2 tbsps canola oil
2 tbsps flour
4 tbsps chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp oregano
2 cups chicken broth

In a small saucepan, heat the canola oil over medium-high heat. Add the flour and stir over the heat for one minute.

Stir in all the rest of the spices. Gradually add the broth and whisk constantly.

Reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes or until thick.

Use immediately or store in a container in the refrigerator for no longer than 2 weeks.

Makes 2 cups.

Easy Enchilada Sauce 2

Source:  Gimme Some Oven

Happy Cooking!

My signature

4 thoughts on “Very Easy Enchilada Sauce

  1. Thanks Nancy! I believe I can handle this one….lol. Always needing enchilada sauce, and I really don’t like the canned sauce, and the brand of dry sauce I like isn’t available up here in NJ. Pinned!

Leave a Reply

