Bourbon Mushrooms

2 Comments

My love for cooking with bourbon is well known around here and when I see it in the title of a recipe, chances are I will try it.  Bourbon really gives some recipes a great flavor.  I cannot stand to drink it but I love cooking with it.

I’ve made a few mushroom recipes over the past few weeks and these were one of our favorites.  Of course I served them with steaks I marinated in…bourbon!  Mushrooms can really take on the flavor of whatever they are cooked it (at least in my opinion) and these were very good.

I used plain old button mushrooms but I think using creminis would be good as well. I also think using fresh herbs instead of dried would be great.

Bourbon Mushrooms

Bourbon Mushrooms

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup olive oil
2 lbs mushrooms ~ I quartered mine
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup bourbon ~ I used Jim Beam
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsps dried parsley
2 tsps dried thyme

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt the butter and olive oil together. Add quartered mushrooms, salt and pepper. Cook until the mushrooms are tender and most of the liquid has been evaporated ~ about 15 minutes. Add the bourbon and cook for 3 minutes more.

Turn heat to low and add the garlic and herbs. Cook for 2 to 3 more minutes.

Serve hot.

Source:  Plain Chicken

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Bourbon Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

