Pineapple Compote

1 Comment

This is a delicious and easy to make.  I served it with ham and it went perfectly ~ on top of the ham or on the side.  I love that it uses all fresh fruit!

I did leave out the vanilla only because I forget to add it but really, I didn’t miss it.

Now, after living in Hawaii, I’ve heard all the tricks on finding a ripe pineapple. All I do is smell the bottom of the pineapple. If it smells like pineapple, it’s ripe. If there are any soft spots or the bottom doesn’t smell at all, I pass it up.

Pineapple Compote 1

Pineapple Compote

1 large, ripe fresh pineapple, peeled, cored, and cut into 1 inch pieces
3 tbsp pure maple syrup
1 pint ripe strawberries, hulled and halved
2 kiwis, peeled and sliced thinly
1 tsp vanilla

Combine the pineapple pieces and the maple syrup in a medium saucepan and cook, covered, over medium-low heat until pineapple is almost tender ~ about 10-12 minutes. Uncover the pan, increase heat to medium and cook until liquid has thickened slightly, 3 to 4 minutes. Mine did not seem to thicken much so I let it go a little longer and it never really got thick at all but it worked with the rest of the recipe.  Cool mixture. This can be done ahead of time. Cover and chill in the refrigerator.

At serving time, mix in the strawberries, kiwi, and vanilla and toss gently.

Makes 4-6 servings

Adapted from From the Heart of Plainfield

Pineapple Compote 2

Happy Cooking!

My signature

One thought on “Pineapple Compote

Leave a Reply

