Beefy Chili

Leave a comment

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again ~ I am not a fan of chili.  Mr. Meat Eater loves it so I continue to make it using different recipes hoping I’ll find one that I like enough to make again.

This recipe is very different from others in that there are no ingredients like onions, pepper, etc.  So in that way, it’s more like a stew I guess.  It’s really quite good and super easy to make.

Chili is still not a favorite but I will make it again so that’s something!  I found the recipe over at Southern Living.

Chili

Beefy Chili

4 lbs beef stew meat
2 tbsps chili powder
2 (6 oz) cans tomato paste
1 (32 oz) container beef broth
2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
2 tsps minced garlic
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dried organo
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Toppings: Tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese, chopped onion, etc., optional

In a Dutch oven over medium-high heat, brown the meat in batches if needed. Remove the meat but leave the drippings in the pot. Add the chili powder and cook, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Stir in tomato paste and cook for 5 minutes.

Return the meat to the pot and stir in the beef broth and the next 9 ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, for 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally. Cook until beef is tender.

Serve with cornbread and toppings if desired.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

Leave a Reply

