Barbecue Baby Back Ribs in the Slow Cooker

2 Comments

Don’t forget to sign up for the Gooseberry Patch giveaway.  Comment HERE on this post to be entered.  Giveaway ends on Thursday!

I know ~ we have a great smoker so why did I put the ribs in my slow cooker?  It was cold and Mr. Meat Eater will only smoke ribs that have a rub on them that is too spicy for me.  And I like them saucey.  So I searched around for a recipe that would meet my criteria and found one on the Betty Crocker site with the one review I was looking for ~ the meat stays on the ribs.  I really don’t like it when the meat falls off the ribs.  Must be the cave woman in me.

Now, you can easily make your own barbecue sauce to use but in the spirit of laziness, I used Sweet Baby Rays which is my favorite.  I used the plain old barbecue sauce.  You will need about 2 or 2 1/2 cups of sauce.

Crockpot Ribs

Barbecue Baby Back Ribs in the Slow Cooker

Barbecue sauce ~ homemade or store bought
4 lb pork baby back ribs, cut into 3 rib sections
salt
pepper

Spray a 5 to 6 quart slow cooker with cooking spray. Sprinkle ribs with salt and pepper and place in slow cooker. Pour about 1 1/2 to 2 cups sauce over the ribs.

Cover the slow cooker and cook on LOW for 6-7 hours or on HIGH for 3-3 1/2 hours or until tender. I cooked mine on LOW for about 3 hours and then upped it to HIGH for another 3-4 hours. My slow cooker does not get really hot so you will have to adjust for your particular slow cooker. Make sure the pork is completely cooked before removing from slow cooker.

Remove from slow cooker and serve with extra barbecue sauce.

Makes 6-8 servings or 3-4 if you are serving Mr. Meat Eater.

Happy Cooking!

My signature

2 thoughts on “Barbecue Baby Back Ribs in the Slow Cooker

  1. Pingback: Easy Oven Ribs With Sriracha Barbecue Sauce « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

