New Gooseberry Patch Cookbook Giveaway!

201 Comments

The Gooseberry Patch Giveaway has ended!

That’s right ~ a new giveaway!  This time the cookbook is 101 Farmhouse Favorites Cookbook ~

101farmhouse

This cookbook is part of one of my favorite series of cookbooks ~ I love the pictures with every recipe.  This is an awesome cookbook!

After looking through the cookbook, I decided that I am going to be cooking from the dessert section most of the time.  The desserts look fabulous and as much as I would love to eat them all, I’ll be sending most to work with Mr. Meat Eater.

GIVEAWAY:  Everyone can have ONE chance to win.  All you have to do is comment on this post what your favorite comfort food is.  Comments on A Recipe A Day’s Facebook page DO NOT COUNT!  Comment here on this post ONE TIME and you are entered.  Easy peasey!  

The giveaway will run from today, 1/21 to 1/31.  On February 1, I use random.org to pick a winner.  I will contact that winner and as soon as I hear back, I will mail out the cookbook. 

Questions?  Email me girard.nancy at yahoo dot com.

I made this crisp yesterday and it is really easy and super delicious! The ingredients can be found all year long, too. I used more cinnamon than called for because I like it but otherwise I made it accordint to the recipe.

Berry Crisp 1

Super Berry Crisp
Submitted by Sandy Widdows, Tucson, AZ

21 oz can cherry pie filling
2 cups fresh blueberries
1/4 cup butter
1/3 cup old fashioned oats, uncooked
1/3 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Pour pie filling in an ungreased 9″ pie plate. Fold in the washed and dried fresh blueberries.

Melt butter in a small bowl. add all the remaining ingredients and mix well. Drop on top of the berries making sure it is evenly spread out over the top. I used my hands for this ~ just easier than a spoon.

Bake at 350º for 35 minutes or until the topping is golden and fruit is bubbly.

Serve garnished with whipped cream if desired.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Berry Crisp 2

Happy Cooking!

My signature

201 thoughts on “New Gooseberry Patch Cookbook Giveaway!

  1. My favorite comfort food is good old fashioned mashed potatoes with butter, salt, and pepper. And maybe a little homemade gravy! Yum! :)

  2. I love Gooseberry Patch Cook Books I have alot of them and would like to try tthe receipes in this one . I have alot of favorites !!

  3. I have lived on this farm for nearly 50 years so this cookbook would certainly fit our eating style. Thanks for offering this giveaway.

  4. My favorite comfort food is homemade mashed potatoes! I will often make them, and just eat them.. all by themselves. I make them with cream cheese, sour cream, and real salted butter!

  5. One of my favorites is a steamy bowl of beefy vegetable stew or homemade spaghetti and meatballs with warm garlic bread. I love using fresh herbs that I’ve grown myself as often as I can. Looking forward to checking out the recipes in your new cookbook!

  6. Sheppard’s pie, Porcupine meatballs, Western style pork ribs in the oven, Beef and noodles, Veggie pizza: To name a few things that my mother and grandmother have taught me :)

  7. A great comfort food after a busy day at work and not feeling well….
    Big scoop of leftover mashed potato, make a well in the middle and scoop in leftover broccoli and cheese soup…Zap in the micro..
    I feel better already….

  8. My favorite comfort food is a big bowl of Corn bread with butter and strawberry jam. yummy. but it all has to be from scratch. even the jam.

  9. My favorite comfort food is Endive cooked in a bacon sauce over boiled potatoe.
    My Mom use to make it for me and it is my most treasured recipe now that she has Alziheimers and can no longer make it. I feel blessed she wrote that recipe down and I found it in her belongings.

  10. My favorite depends on my mood – it’s either pasta alfredo, mac-n-cheese, pear gingerbread or gooey triple dark chocolate brownies with Blue Bell homestyle vanilla ice cream.

  11. my favorite comfort food is homemade beef stew with lots of veggies…some good crusty bread and i can say yum !!!!!

  12. My comfort food — hmmm, I guess that it would be goulash with homemade bread. Just reminds me of all the cold winters we had growing up and coming in from playing outside to a hot dinner on the table.
    Thanks for the opportunity to relive some memories and have a chance to win a great cookbook.

  13. This rivals my own Black Raspberry cobbler recipe that I have used for the last 50 yrs. Delicious! Sincerely Carolyn Ford Witt

  14. I so agree the chicken and noodles are the best comfort food, when my sister passed away someone brought this to the funeral home. We all felt warm and comforted.

  15. My favorite comfort food is a big bowl of homeade chili beans made in the crock pot over nite from freshly cooked pinto beans! Yummy

  16. my go to comfort food is chocolate….but, comfort meal would be chicken and dumplings!! Sure would love to win this book….and will like to receive your page as well…thank-you!!

  17. My favorite comfort food is a bowl of homemade soup accompanied by warm, fresh baked bread. And while any kind will do, a bowl of old-fashioned vegetable beef soup and a basket of fluffy dinner rolls with butter will take me back to my grandmother’s kitchen and the feeling that all will be well.

  18. My favorite comfort food is Homemade Mac and Cheese and Mashed Potatoes run a close second. Would love to have your book.

  19. My favourite comfort food is snickerdoodles. thanks for the opportuntity to win this cookbook and thanks for your newsletter!

  20. My favorite comfort food is my mom’s homemade, baked macaroni and cheese. She’s no longer with us, and I miss her and her cooking. Have a blessed day.
    ~~Amy~~

  21. My favorite comfort food is chicken potpie. By this I don’t mean a crusted pie with chicken and vegetables, I mean something that looks more like Southern Chicken and rolled Dumplins. That is what we called it here in the S. Jersey area where I grew up. I love the dumplins at Cracker Barrel. My mother would make enough to last a week and I’d eat it all day every day!

  22. Hi everyone. Just stumbled across this website looks like a keeper! Myfavorite comfort food is my moms cheese topped pork chops…..mmmmm!

  23. My very favorite comfort food is old fashioned chicken and dumplings! Would love to add this book to my GBP collection.

    Deb

  24. May favorite comfort food is noodles over mashed potatoes. Love it especially in the wintertime. Can be beef & noodles or chicken & noodles.

  25. Comfort food / Happiness is: Spaghetti! Can’t beat a plate of homemade spaghetti! A nice fresh, crisp Ceasar salad. And don’t forget the toasty garlic bread. Yum-Yum!

  26. Comfort food to me – anything my mom used to make when we were kids! I think of beef stew, casseroles, chocolate chip cookies…

Leave a Reply

