Cinnamon Roll Casserole

6 Comments

I forgot to mention in my last post that the picture of my daughter was taken by my friend, Ann, who I think missed her calling as a photographer. She took some great pictures!

I also wanted to mention that my picture of Zippy seen here can also be seen on Touch of Home Petsitting Blog!  That picture always makes me laugh.

I found the recipe for this breakfast casserole on Pinterest and it’s from The Dishy Decorator and we loved it.  It’s really more like a cinnamon roll French toast.  It’ perfect by itself but adding bacon or sausage and fruit would round it out.  It also couldn’t be easier to make.

Cinnamon Roll Casserole

1 tbsps melted butter
2 cans Pillsbury refrigerated cinnamon rolls with icing (8 in a can)
4 eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tsps cinnamon
2 tsps vanilla
1 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup real maple syrup

Heat oven to 375º and pour melted butter into a 13×9 glass baking dish.

Separate rolls from the cans and cut each roll into 8 pieces and place in dish over melted butter.

In a small bowl, mix eggs, heavy cream, cinnamon, and vanilla until well blended and pour over the top of the rolls in the dish. Sprinkle with pecan pieces and drizzle with the 1/4 cup syrup. I did not use the pecans and I just eyeballed the syrup and it worked out fine.

Bake 20 to 28 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, remove metal tops from the icing and heat in the microwave for 10 to 15 seconds at 50% power or until the icing is pourable.

Drizzle over the top of the cooled rolls.

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Casserole

  1. Tried this. My 7 yr. old granddaughter made it in fact. It is awesome, I could have made 2 , lol. I will be making it for a crowd next month.

  2. It’s in the oven right now! Can’t wait to taste it. My hubby and I have a “date night at home” tonight and this is what we’re eating. Soooo looking forward to it!

  3. This sounds incredibly unique and it looks incredible. My husband has had me looking for a whole wheat version of this recipe. Thanks for sharing this one!
    -Shannon, The Crumb Cake Queen

Leave a Reply

