Opening Day!!!

5 Comments

Finally, baseball season is back!  I love baseball and I am a Mets fan and Mr. Meat Eater is a Yankees fan so we watch both teams when they play via MLB Extra Innings.  One of the things I love about baseball is that I can walk out of the room and do something and come back and chances are nothing has happened, LOL!

Baseball makes me think of hot dogs which makes me think of a hot dog restaurant called Brownies in the town where I grew up ~ Amsterdam, New York.  They made the best hot dogs with meat sauce (mustard and onions first, of course) and fries with gravy.  I really, really miss that place and don’t have any idea if it is still there or not.  Somehow I doubt it.

In my quest to find a meat sauce for hot dogs that I can make just like Brownies, I came across this one.  It tasted nothing like Brownies but Mr. Meat Eater loved it.  Probably because it tastes more like chili than anything else.  I thought it was good but I wanted it to taste like I remember and it didn’t so I was disappointed.

If anyone has a good tried and true recipe for meat sauce for hot dogs, please send them to me and I’ll try them over the summer ~ a_recipe_day at yahoo dot com.

Hot Dog Meat Sauce

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
1/2 cup diced onion
1/4 cup water
1 tbsp minced fresh garlic
3/4 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 lb ground beef
8 hot dogs
8 hot dog buns

Combine first 6 ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

Brown ground beef in a skillet and drain. Add the tomato sauce mixture and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes. Removed from heat and set aside.

Grill, boil, or pan fry the hot dogs ~ I also grill the top split buns.

Serve hot dogs with your choice of condiments and the meat sauce.

Makes 8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Opening Day!!!

Leave a Reply

