Sunshine State Citrus Cupcakes and a Gooseberry Patch GIVEAWAY!!

240 Comments

Time for another giveaway for a great  Gooseberry Patch cookbook!

This giveaway is for ONE copy of the NEW Simple Shortcut Recipes generously donated by Gooseberry Patch.   This cookbook is perfect if you don’t have loads of time to spend in the kitchen.  The recipes are delicious, easy, and you probably have many of the ingredients in your pantry already.  Giveaway rules will follow after the recipe!

For the next 10 days, look for a recipe every day from this cookbook!

I chose to make these cupcakes because I LOVE citrus.  It’s one of my favorite ingredients to cook with.  Everything always tastes so fresh and citrus can be found all year long so I don’t have to wait for a certain time of year to use it.

One of the things I liked about this particular recipe, is that you can use it for a dessert, for breakfast, or for an afternoon snack with a cup of tea.  Plus I love Florida so anything that says Sunshine State is right up my alley!

Three of the four dogs got into them and enjoyed them as well!

Sunshine State Citrus Cupcakes
submitted by Bunny Palmertree of Carrollton, MS

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 pkg yellow cake mix
2 small boxes Instant Lemon Pudding ~ I used sugar-free
3/4 cup oil
1 cup orange juice
4 eggs, beaten
1 tsp vanilla

In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Beat for one minute on low and then 3 minutes on high.

Fill paper lined muffin tins about 1/2 full.

Bake at 350º for 25 minutes or until golden.

While cupcakes are still warm, pierce with a fork.

Spoon glaze evenly over the top of all the cupcakes, using up all the glaze. It’s easier if you put wax paper under the cooking rack to catch all the drips.

Glaze:
1/3 cup orange juice
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and boil and stir for 2 minutes. Use immediately.

Makes 2 dozen.

FOR THE GIVEAWAY ~ all you have to do is just reply on this post telling me you want to be entered.  Very easy!  The giveaway will run  until April 3.  I will pick a winner using random.org.  If you have any questions, just email me at a_recipe_a_day at yahoo dot com.

Happy Cooking!

240 thoughts on “Sunshine State Citrus Cupcakes and a Gooseberry Patch GIVEAWAY!!

  1. Please enter me in your contest for the cookbook. These muffins sound yummy..am going to make them for Easter!

  2. I would love to be entered into the contest. I love gooseberry and all the new bloggers they have introduced us to. thanks cindy

  3. I love Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. I have checked out everyone our library has and tried most of their recipes. I would love to have my own copy that I could mark or write in!!!

  4. I am a Gooseberry Patch addict. I would love the chance to win another cookbook. How did I miss this one???? LOL

  5. I love to bake and cook!
    Hubby and I just celebrated 50 years married on 2/17……so there has been lots of cooking and baking in this house.
    Love Gooseberry Patch and I do collect cookbooks for the variety recipes for a change in menu.
    Thank you for your fine cookbooks with all the yummy ideas!

  6. i collect cook books and have several of yours!!! would love to have this book!!!! thanks!!!! love you site!!

  7. These sound wonderful! So ‘springy’ ……thanks for sharing…..and the chance to win a Gooseberry Cookbook!

    Lynda

  8. These look super simple to make and yummie! I made Guinness cupcakes and a Coke cake for a MDA bake sale at my job, now my coworkers expect me to whip up new and exciting treats. Thanks for the recipie, I’ll be adding this to my “things to make”.

  9. This is perfect for me with two little kids in the house! I never have a ton of time for meals!

    Sugardipes1 at aol dot com

  10. Love Gooseberry Patch the recipes are delicous fresh and turn out better than I ever thought i could prepare they make it easy for me to be a cook with little skills wonderful thanks so much…
    please enter me for the sunshine cookbook..

  11. Your cookbooks have some of my favorite recipes – and they also make great gifts.

    Please enter me in the giveaway – I need all the short cuts there are!

  12. WOW – if this is a sample recipe…I WOULD LOVE MORE! Hope I win a fantastic Gooseberry Patch cookbook. Yummy! Have a sunny day!

  13. Thanks for introducing me to Gooseberry Patch cookbooks. I’ve never seen them before in Australia. It would be great fun to win one, if only to see what’s on page 32. :)

  14. I love anything Gooseberry Patch! And the recipies I have tried are wonderful!
    Please enter me to win this great-sounding cookbook!

  15. Love to cook, bake , with my kids and grandchildren, do a new cookbook with Delicious recipes would be wonderful

  16. cupcakes look yummmmy!!! something new to try for my boyfriend, he loves deserts and this look easy to do as well. thank you renae

  17. It sure looks delicious! I’ve tried a couple of your recipes before and all the family loved’em… Thanks Nancy for your great recipes… If this giveaway is still on, count me in! Thanks ;)

  18. I ♥ Gooseberry Patch! I collect cookbooks & this would be a wonderful addition to my collection. Fingers crossed for winning it! :)

  19. Yummy! I just love all the great ideas that you give us! I have become quite the baker while using these books of yours!

  20. Put the cake mix in a greased angle food cake pan and it made a beautiful cake for a Sunday celebration! Wonderful spring flavor. Please enter me into the contest!

  21. I made the pot roast recipe the other day (kind of). I couldn’t find cream of onion soup so just left it out and used regular russet potatoes which I had on hand. Still turned out really yummy.

  22. Each year I look forward to giving away a different Gooseberry Patch cookbook to my special friends at Christmas and their birthdays. I would love to be able to win this one. Thanks for the opportunity.

  23. I am always on the lookout for great yet simple recipes for my family. This cookbook sounds perfect for me.

  24. YUM! A lemon muffin w/a cup of hot tea in the morning or w/a glass of iced tea for dessert after dinner. Gathering my ingredients now.

    Enter me for the Gooseberry Cookbook.

  25. This seems to be a really simple recipe and quick to make. Can’t wait to try it. I’m thinking it will be a fresh take a lemon dessert for Easter – light, tasty and lemony!

  26. I really like shortcuts and could always use more. I work, and so it seems I never get enough time to cook like I want. Please enter me in your giveaway. Thank -you

  27. I love to cook, but due to time constraints, Sunday is the only day I have to make some real food. This cookbook looks fantastic and just what I need to get through the week when time is short.

  28. I am a big fan of good short cut recipes!!! Saves time without compromising the taste. You are doing a fabulous job of spreading the splendid recipes with great commitment and devotion and it reflects very well in your blog and site. Hats off to one foodie lover to another. Would love to have this book. Good luck to all!!!!

  29. I definitely want to be entered in this contest. I LOVE Gooseberry Patch books and want to add this to my collection. THANK YOU!!

  30. These look so wonderful that I’m going to make them for Easter brunch. I would love to have this cookbook for weeknight dinners and when kids drop by to eat.
    I just signed up to your blog as it looks really interesting and useful,too.

  31. I illustrated this cookbook and I love seeing how many people like it…..please don’t enter me as I have one already……love Estella Hickman

  32. Sorry, Nancy! I didn’t see my comment post. I thought I did something wrong, so posted again. Couldn’t figure out how to delete the second post, so please ignore. :) Thanks! Teri

  33. would love to be entered in your4 drawings love to get a hold of one of thoss cookbooks… really good recipes the ones i have tried… mmmm mmmm goooooood…..

  34. Please enter me for a chance to win the “Gooseberry Patch” cookbook!! My grandchildren and I love trying new recipes out. Can’t wait to make these delicious citrus cupcakes.
    Thank You

  35. The Sunshine State Citrus Cupcakes look yummy. I’m going to have to make some! I’d love to win a Gooseberry Cookbook to go with the ones I have. TY!

  36. I don’t like cake mixes, seems like cheating. I find its just as quick to mix up a scratch recipe as it is a cake mix. I love all the other recipes though.

  37. Anything citrus gets my attention. Will be making these soon. Would love to have a copy of this book to add to the ones I have.

  38. I LOVE gooseberry patch cookbooks, they remind me of my mom when shes hundreds of miles away!! Please enter me in the giveaway!! Thanks!!!

  39. Love my Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks!! Please enter me in the give-away. Thank you so much for the fun contest and free recipes :)

  40. I would love to be entered in the giveaway. I have a small family and never know what to cook. Gooseberry patch is my favorite cookbook company, but with my husband being the only one working and me having a 2 year old and a 5 month old money is really tight for the cookbooks.

  41. I would love to entered the contest to win this new Cookbook from Gooseberry Patch. I have most of their Cookbooks but not this one.

  42. These cupcakes look delicious, can’t wait to try them!
    Please enter me in the giveaway, thanks.

  43. I would love to be entered in the giveaway contest. This cupcakes just scream easter and that is were they will be, on the table for easter brunch.

  44. I would love to be entered for the giveaway! The cupcakes sound delicious and fun and easy. Thanks for sharing.

  45. Pingback: Sunshine State Citrus Cupcakes and a … – A Recipe A Day- Recipes And Family

Leave a Reply

