My Very FIRST Giveaway!

399 Comments

This giveaway has ended but check out giveaways link up above to see if there are any current giveaways going on!

I’m so excited for my very first giveaway to be a Gooseberry Patch cookbook!  I have loved Gooseberry Patch for a long time and I think I have recipes in 12 or 13 of their cookbooks.  They are a wonderful company!  If you don’t have any of their cookbooks, you should.

This is the cookbook I will be giving away thanks to the generosity of Gooseberry Patch.  It’s a small book ~ about 6×6 ~ with 48 pages.  So many wonderful recipes are included along with tips on wrapping, thanks yous, etc.   Here is some more about the book from the Gooseberry Patch site ~ Recipes for Warming Hearts.

I made the chicken tetrazzini recipe and it was wonderful!  I used a cooked chicken from the store and included the optional mushrooms.  Super easy and both Mr. Meat Eater and myself said we would have it again.  It’s a great recipe to included  in this cookbook because it would be wonderful to bring to a friend or family member in need.  Add a salad and bread and you have a great meal that’s easy on the pocketbook.

Chicken Tetrazzini

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 cups chicken broth
2 tbsps sherry or chicken broth (I used the sherry)
2 cups milk or whipping cream (I used milk)
8 ounces spaghetti, cooked
2 cups cooked chicken, cubed
3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided
optional: 4 ounce can of sliced mushrooms (I used a larger sized can since we love mushrooms)

Melt butter in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium heat. Add flour, salt and pepper; cook until bubbly. Add broth, sherry or chicken broth, chicken broth and milk or cream; bring to boil for one minute ~ making sure to whisk continuously.

Stir in spaghetti, chicken, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and mushrooms, if using; mix well. Spread in a lightly greased 13×9 baking pan and sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese.

Bake, uncovered, at 350º for 30 minutes.

Makes 6-8 servings.

GIVEAWAY PARTICULARS:

I’ll be running this giveaway until midnight on September 28.  I will put all entries in a bowl and have Mr. Meat Eater or a friend pick the winner.  I will post the winner here and on my facebook page.  The winner will have to contact me within 3 days with name and address and I will send out the book by priority mail.  If I don’t hear from the winner within 3 days, I will pull a new winner.

For one chance to win ~ please comment with your favorite dish to bring a friend or family member in need.

For a second chance to win ~ like A Recipe A Day on Facebook (if you already do, just say that) A Recipe A Day. Comment here that you have.

For a third chance to win ~ like Gooseberry Patch on Facebook (if you already do, just say that) Gooseberry Patch. Comment here that you have.

All entries must be here NOT on my Facebook page.

If you have any questions, drop me a line at a_recipe_a_day at yahoo dot com.

I’ll be sharing another recipe from this book in the coming days!

Happy Cooking!

399 thoughts on “My Very FIRST Giveaway!

  1. My favorite meal to take to someone in need is Steak
    Soup (made with ground beef), a nice lettuce salad, rolls and some brownies or cookies–YUM!!

  2. Gooseberry Cookbooks are the best gifts to give for newlyweds….gives them a helping hand on dinners!! I like both “Recipe A Day” and “Gooseberry Patch” on facebook.

  3. I love your blog! I usually base what I bring depending on the season. In the summer it is potato salad,waldorf coleslaw,settlers beans and a dessert like turtle brownies or rasberry pillow cookies.In the winter I like to do lasagna,stuffed shells,slow cooked roastbeef sandwiches,scalloped potatoes,cabbage rolls(golumpki) my grammy’s recipe and a dessert like apple ,cherry ,pecan,pumpkin pie or banana nut bread!! I so enjoy cooking and so does my little boy it gives us such a nice time for bonding!!

  4. Great blog, I love making a warm filling casserole filled with cheese, bacon, onion, chicken and more cheese.. and some pasta or rice! and I “Liked” Gooseberry Patch

  5. What I like to bring a friend in need is comfort food. I will bring a stew, lasagna or even a roast with the trimmings. Of course, you must include a dessert like a cobbler.

  6. I am trying the Ravioli casserole from the Pasta Recipe book! I am excited about trying it! But am very concerned that it is to much cheese! The Raviolis are cheese and I am using as directed in the recipe to use the cottage cheese and mozzarella cheese as well as sprinkling Parm cheese on the top! I was thinking about adding browned ground beef in it also! Maybe next time getting the beef raviolis! What do you think????

  7. I love Gooseberry Patch and can’t live with out you!!! I do not know how to register for any of the give a ways! So please help me out with that!
    I made the Chicken Stroganoff, from your slow cooker book! It was awesome and now I am going online to send it to the rest of my family to try! I also make the Cheesy Garlic Biscuits with it! I put the Stroganoff over mashed potatoes and my husband was loving every minute of it!
    Thanks for your help in the kitchen! I hate making the same old same old thing over and over again. I am 53 years old and I am just now learning new things from you!
    Thanks again and please help me learn how to register for the give a ways! I want to win something for the first time ever!!!
    Love ya
    Debbie

  8. I make soup or something easy to heat up. If they are single, I put it in single serve dishes. If it’s a family, I put it in a large bowl. I make sure to send crackers, cornbread, etc, to compliment the meal. I also try to send some type of small dessert.

  9. I usually make lasagna or macaroni and cheese (homemade, of course!) and I also take a nice tossed salad with either of these, complete with dressing.

  10. I enjoy sharing a casserole – called “company casserole” It is layered ground meat with tomato sauce – fine egg noodles and a mixture of cottage cheese, sour cream and cream cheese.

  11. I think a casserole is always nice they can heat it up as they r hungry. I also liked ur fb page and gooseberry patch fb page.

  12. If someone is sick and stuck in bed I always like to take them a nice container of my special homemade Potato Soup! It’s what warms the soul! MMMMM!!!

  13. I was lucky to stumble upon your page with this great opportunity to use/learn some of your recipes as well as winning a possible cook book. Thank you for sharing what you do.

  14. My favorite dish to take to someone are my famous meatballs.
    I, too, have been published in Gooseberry Patch cookbooks. What an honor!

  15. I like to make/give Cranberry Chicken. It makes a double batch. . .so I have one for my family. . .and one for my friend in need. I send a bag of Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice. . .and the chicken is made in the crockpot. . .so it is really easy.

  16. I wasn’t sure if you wanted the recipe or just the name of the recipe. I always take a chicken dish we call Granny’s dish. Some people relate it to chicken and noodles but it is so much more. Definitely not the chicken and noodles I make. You add veggies in season and spices…Some friends even call to say they are sick…

    • I also have liked both facebook pages. Long time ago. Love both pages and have used so many of the recipes. Love doing new recipes.

  17. i like to bring friends chicken soup or dessert. who can resist a sweet treat, even if sick? i also belong to gooseberry patch on facebook.

  18. i always make a homemade chicken pot pie…it just warms the soul and fills the body with comfort…i have to admit i am not a great cook…trying to learn though..but this is one of the things i feel really confident making and its so tasty.

  19. Great recipe! I’m trying it tonight! Love your advise and tips! Glad I found you! Love Gooseberry Patch cookbooks! Thanks so much for helping me make my family happy at meal time! :)

  20. I like Recipe A Day & Gooseberry Patch on FB. Very cool site. Thank you for the recipe. I like making chicken & dumplins for friends…they all want some when I make them!

  21. When my friends become new moms I like to bring them bbq meatballs and mashed potatoes because they can throw them in the freezer for a quick meal when they feel up to it! :)

  22. I like to take my family’s favorite chicken casserole to friends in need (shredded boiled chicken breasts, cream of chicken soup, rotel, crushed Doritos mixed together and topped with shredded cheese and baked) and it always gets rave reviews. I also like to take my favorite Butter Pecan Coconut cake!

  23. Tried the Chicken Tetrazzini….mmmmMMMmmmm very good. I thought i would come back here and tell you and Mr. Meat Eater and to be sure I didn’t miss anything in entering this contest I cant tell you how much i want this GBP book. Let me be your first giveaway winner. hugs arlene Marie Pitts email carpediem5790@yahoo.com

  24. …so glad i just found your site! also just “Liked” you on facebook!..please also enter me in your GBP recipe book giveaway..fingers crossed!..ty- Paula Tillett/paulatillett@aol.com

  25. Hi Nancy
    1) I have already like recipe a day
    2) I have already liked Gooseberry Patch (and have several of their wonderful cookbooks!)
    3) When a friend is in need, I bring baked mac and cheese with a salad and spiral glazed ham, and seven-layer bars.

  26. Me again, one more time! I already fave and like Gooseberry Patch on facebook, I have already been a fan for almost a year now. I love the warm, cosy, country down home feeling i get from Gooseberry Patch’s books, recipes, website, videos. I am Marie Pitts email: carpediem5790@yahoo.com Thank you again for sponsoring this giveaway!

  27. I faved your facebook page and I know i got the right one as I matched your email! I am Marie Pitts on facebook and I use carpediem5790 on FB as well. I really really really hope to win this book. I am looking for ideas on how to warm my country home! Thank you, carpe diem! ‘seize the day’ email carpediem5790@yahoo.com

  28. When i take a meal over to a friends house, I usually take white sauce lasagna. Most people like lasagna and making it white sauce, cuts down on the heartburn. Many people have never had lasagna in white sauce, so they are anxious to try it! P.S. i love your blog and your fb page! You like to seize the day and try a new recipe each day…carpe diem means seize the day! I am, arlene Marie Pitts email carpediem5790@yahoo.com I am a big fan of Gooseberry Patch and wish I could have every one of their publications. Not only are the recipes great, but the warm, coziness in presentation is very special to me. Thanks for sponsoring the giveaway. Marie :)

  29. Hello,You have a AWESOME Blog,My favorite meal to take to some else house is Lasagna.I also take this church get together,No On is ever disappointed.Thanks for the Give-A-Way,I hope I win and I am a facebook friend of GB Patch and I am going to facebook now and find you :)

  30. I love the easy to follow recipes in the cookbooks. I can’t wait to try the new ones. The chicken tetrazzini looks great. I’ll be trying it out tonight.

  31. I usually make lasagna. It can feed a large family or a smaller one with msany leftovers. Also its inexpensive & easy to make :) I am a FB fan of you AND GBP. Thanks for the opportunity to win this FABBY prize :):):)

  32. My fav. dish to bring a loved one is my lasagna. I use my home canned tomato juice to make the sauce and it really makes it a special recipe. Gooseberry Patch is a facebook friend of mine also. And, I think I have the daily recipe also.

  33. I like to make my chicken pie with cheese crescents to take to someone and to gatherings. I like Gooseberry Patch and A recipe a day on facebook.

  34. I would bring Spinach/Potato soup years ago to my mother in law as she was aging and she loved that dish. It was to be served cold.
    I “like” Gooseberry patch
    I “like” Recipe A day

  35. I like to bring friends in need a dinner that varies with the seasons, but I always include homemade cookies to help cheer them up.

    I have liked A Recipe A Day on Facebook.

    I have also already liked Gooseberry Patch on Facebook. That’s how I discovered your blog. :)

    Jenni B

  36. I like to take spaghetti to a family in need. It’s easy for them to reheat and serve as needed and it’s something children will enjoy.

  37. I take freshly baked bread, or if I know folks like ‘em, my Sweet Potato Souffle. I’ve been a ‘liker’ and member of Gooseberry Patch for a while, and thanks to them, I’m also a new ‘liker’ of you/your site also!! Thanks for the opportunity to win a special G.P. cookbook; they are all so wonderful!

  38. i love gooseberry..first found a book at crackerbarrel and now follow all the gooseberry messages…i have it on aol..facebook and check all my messages placed on facebook…the pics of food make me hungry even when im not…..i wanna a book..but if not i will keep trying……

  39. I am a fan of Gooseberry Patch on facebook. I have been collecting Gooseberry Patch books since their beginning. I love everything Gooseberry Patch!

  40. I like to bring a basket filled with breads, homemade jam, tea and a small book, For the family I will usually make a batch of chilli and include hot dogs, cheese, onions, sour cream, and chips.

  41. I make Roman Holiday. I usually have everything on hand and even picky little eaters usually like it. Brown ground beef (or I use turkey), cook a box of pasta, sliced cheese and a couple of cans of stewed tomatoes. Layer them in a cassarole dish and bake. Really yummy! I also like to include chocolate chip cookies too.
    I have ‘liked’ a Recipe a Day and Gooseberry Patch on FB. Thank you :) Diane

  42. One of my favorite dishes to bring a friend in need would be homemade soup ~ probably borscht. For me homemade soup is full of love and comfort. I am a fan on FB of Gooseberry Patch, and A Recipe A Day :)

  43. Now I ‘like’ recipe a day on Facebook! Wait, can I change that to ‘love’?! So many great recipes! Chicken retreading looks scrumptious!

  44. I like to take slow cooker Sweet & Sour Meatballs with a side of rice.
    I liked your Facebook page
    I already liked Goose Berry’s page!

    Thanks

  45. Hi there! I just liked A Recipe A Day on FB and I already like Goose Berry Patch on FB. I would take a banana bread to a friend or family in need. And maybe something made from a new cookbook ;)

  46. There are so many choices when it comes to deciding on a dish to take to someone in need, I will vary what I make by the situation so it may range from chicken soup for someone who is ill to a roasted chicken and homemade loaf of bread to a family in need or mourning to a nice fruit salad and angel food cake for a new mother.

  47. My favorite dish is an easy slow cooker meal in one..I brown pork chops then add them to Golden Mushroom soup..let cook on low for about 4 hours..I sometimes add sauteed peppers and onions on top and about 2 hours in I add potatoes that have been partially nuked.
    Meat and potatoes all hot with gravy and in one pot!! Add a green salad and you’re set!
    Nancy Narma tenderheart@echoes.net

  48. I too found you through Gooseberry Patch. Liked your site, so I will gladly “like” you!!
    I usually fall back to my Wild rice & Chicken salad (can easily be a side or main dish).
    So sign me up for three chances!
    Thanks!

  49. Depends on the need, if it is a bunch of people such as the local fire department, (we had major flooding here recently and I made a Hamburg BBQ and helped with meal makings) but I like to make Hamburg BBQ, Chicken Broccoli casseroles, Mac and Cheese or meatballs.
    I am a fan of Gooseberry Patch and just liked Recipe a Day

  50. 1. I would take my all to famous cheese ball,,make with roast beef and cheddar cheese
    2. I like a recipe a day
    3. I like gooseberry patch on facebook

  51. When I have a friend who is in need of a meal, I prepare baked ziti or chicken. I’ll bring along a salad and dessert.

    Than you for the chance to be included in the drawing – I love Gooseberry Patch!

  52. I like to take a cassarole in a disposable foil pan – easy to serve and then throw away – no clean up or returning pans. My favorite is lasagna, but also LOVE chicken and noodles!

  53. I love Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. I just got one for my birthday!

    I am a cookbook Freak….

    I usually take my homemade Chicken noodle soup.

  54. I already “like” Gooseberry Patch, have asked their help with accomodating a recipe, and liked a recipe, which I will now do daily.
    To a friend in need, we raise our own chickens and I usually cook them a chicken dinner using one of our smaller chickens with dressing, veggies, gravy, biscuits and apple crisp. No complaints so far. Sometimes it’s stew and biscuits, but usually apple crisp for dessert.

  55. Found your site through Gooseberry Patch on Facebook. I like your site and have liked your facebook page. I am excited to visit around your site.

    My favorite thing to bring to someone sick or homebound due to illness or surgery is chicken pot pie. Love comfort food!

    Denise

  56. Hi Nancy, I am a fan of “Recipe a Day and Gooseberry Patch” on face book.
    I usually take Lasagna / Salad/ garlic bread. This allows the friend or family in need to have more than one meal or freeze it for later.

  57. Nancy, Thank you for bring us so many wonderful recipes. I have “liked” recipe a day and Gooseberry Patch of facebook. My favorite recipe to bring to a family or friend in need is Lasagna / salad / garlic bread. This allows them to have more than one meal and if they have other foods they can freeze it for later. Thanks, Rita

  58. Thanks for the recipe! The chicken tetrazinni looks wonderful. I already follow Gooseberry Patch on Facebook. I love to take my Sausage and Chicken Gumbo!

  59. i like a recipe a day & gooseberry patch on facebook. not sure what dish i would take. haven’t been faced with that dilemma yet.

  60. My favorite dish to bring is Spaghetti. Great as leftovers. And I just “liked” A Recipe A Day on Facebook and I already “liked” a Gooseberry Patch on Facebook..I also have the Gooseberry Patch cookbook “Comfort Foods.” I love it.

  61. I love to bring my homemade chicken noodle soup to a friend. I like both recipe a day and gooseberry patch on facebook, Thanks for this chance to win one of their wonderful cookbooks. I have about 8 of them

  62. Hello Nancy,
    I like to take Beef and Noodles to friend and family.

    I just “liked” your “Recipe A Day” facebook page…I had not seen it before.

    I already “like” Gooseberry Patch.

    Kimberly

  63. I love your cookbooks… I have a few that are not GOOSEBERRY PATCH, but I also KNOW I have over 50 of various GOOSEBERRY PATCH COOKBOOKS. Your’s are the best… great recipes and I usually have the ingredients around home, so it is a win- win situation. Thanks.

  64. I like to take chicken and noodles with hot rolls to friends/family in need. I had already like Gooseberry Patch on facebook and I am new to you, but I liked A Recipe a Day, now, too!

  65. I like to take Chicken and Noodles and hot rolls to friends in need. I liked A Recipe a Day and I already liked Gooseberry on facebook. Thanks for the opportunity!

  66. I liked receipe of the day on facebook, what I like to take is chicken spaghetti and a oogie cake. Really anything home cooked seems to lift the spirits of a someone not feeling well.

  67. I already am a fan of Gooseberry Patch on Facebook. Love looking at the recipes and now that I am retired maybe I will have more time for the kitchen to try new recipes.

  68. I love making soup, because it can always please an audience. It can feed a family, but it can also be given to just one person and feed them for a week. Soups appeal to vegetarians and meat eaters alike – it’s perfect! I’ve already “liked” A Recipe a Day and Gooseberry Patch on facebook!

  69. I usually take crockpot Mac & Cheese to neighbors & friends because it is the one that is requested the most. Love to take other things like homemade beef veggie soup or casseroles. Thanks for the chance at an awesome cookbook!

  70. Great blog! I like to bring Enchiladas as my ‘take & bake’ to friends/family.

    I “like” your facebook page & I also “like” Gooseberry’s facebook page. Have a great day!

  71. I always bring my famous chocolate peanut butter fudge or bread dip. Most of the time I can’t go to a party unless I bring them, lol. I have liked your page on facebook and have been a fb follower of gooseberry patch for a long time now :)

  72. Love your blog!!
    I like a recipe a day & also LIKED facebook on that page.
    When I have to take something to a family for whatever reason-like to take lasagna with a salad & fresh bread.

  73. Hi! I am a HUGE Gooseberry fan! I am also new to your blog but it looks like we have the same taste buds ;)

    I already “liked” Gooseberry on Fb and now I also “like” A Recipe a Day. My favorite recipe to whip up for those in need is sour cream chicken casserole…easy and tasty!

  74. For someone who is sick or just under the weather,my Mom’s chicken vegetable soup can’t be beat! Love Gooseberry Patch and their cookbooks!

  75. I liked Recipe A Day on Face book. Just found the site & already i am in love with it! Thanks for the chance on the great cookbook!

  76. Breakfast casserole. Mainly because I don’t cook that much, because I work a lot as a graphic designer. I only mention my profession because even though I don’t cook that often, I am sooo in love with Gooseberry Patch. I haven’t bought one of their cookbooks yet, but I love the hand drawn art and their special style!

  77. HI,
    I am new to the site and I love it. For many years I just lived on fast food. But now I really want to cook more for myself and my fiancee. I Liked Goosberry Patch and I Liked a Recipe a Day.

    I do make my chilli for friends in need. It is great and can be put over rice, noodles, or a hot dog for the little ones in the family.

  78. Thanks for having this Giveaway Nancy! My favorite dish to bring to a friend is usually Chicken Pot Pie. I love to add cream cheese to it to make it extra special. I just “liked” Recipe A Day” and I already “Like” Gooseberry Patch. Thank you! Jenny runningpony@gmail.com

  79. Just “Liked” you on Facebook… Love your page and your blog!
    I like to make a simple pot roast in the crockpot for friends or family in need (usually neighbors who need help with dinner while ill). I put any roast (chuck, london broil, etc. whatever is on sale) in the crock pot with a whole onion, some small red potatoes, and baby carrots on the bottom. Then I add 1 can of Coke, 1 envelope onion soup mix, a jig of Worcestershire sauce, and a zig zag of ketchup on top of it all. Cook on low all day, then I bring it to the family. It’s impressive, they always think I ‘slaved’ over dinner! It’s easy, and everyone loves it so much they always ask for the “recipe”. :o)

  80. Hello, I am new here. I visited recipe a day, found that I liked it very much, so, happily clicked the “like” button. I agree, Paula Deen’s recipes never seem to provide expected results.
    I am happy to say that I already “like” gooseberry patch’s FB page, it is how I learned about you.
    I like to bring a friend a casserole of browned ground beef (or turkey) “mexi-corn”, noodles and olives in a tomato base with cheese on top. I don’t know if it has a “name”, my mom made it and now so do I…I just call it “casserole”…it freezes and reheats well, is filling and nourishing and a great boon especially to new Mommies.
    Thank you for considering me, but mostly thank you for sharing.
    Synde Sprenger Edwards

  81. My favorite thing to take to friends and neighbors in need is Cheese Enchiladas, my Mom’s recipe. Love your blog and already “like” ‘A Recipe a Day’ and ‘Gooseberry Patch’ on Facebook.

    Thanks!!

  82. My favorite dish to bring a friend or family member in need would depend on the need. If they were sick, I would bring the old stand-by: Chicken Noodle soup. If there had been a loss, I like to bring a fresh fruit dish, since most people bring heavy desserts. That way they have options.

  83. I give “Baked Mostaccioli” for those in need.
    I “liked” A Recipe a Day.
    I already have been a follower of Gooseberry Patch on Facebook.

  84. I always like to take a pressure cooker full of garden green beans, potatoes, onions and turkey sausage. We live way out in the country, so fixing this in the pressure cooker allows for time to cool off on the way there, but still be hot enough to enjoy for a pitch in dinner!

  85. Hi Nancy, Like so many others, my love of cooking and collecting recipes is truly my passion. If there is a person that needs a little cheering up or I just want to do something special for the family I like to make my version of apple cake.

  86. I love the recipes you have in your gooseberry cookbooks…… usually when I purchase 1 book…i need another and I send one to kentucky by my niece..she also loves them ;o)

  87. Cooking is fun. When I know someone needs a lift, I bring homemade Hamburger Vegetable Soup! Easy to make, you normally have all the ingredients, just a great, warming soup!

  88. I have a great spaghetti pie recipe, actually it is a freezer meal recipe that makes 3 pies. I bring that to friends when they have babies or they are sick. I already like gooseberry patch on facebook and I will like your page as soon as I get done here!

  89. I make a great & very easy Hamburger Vegetable Soup. It is warm & can be frozen or reheated. You can add whatever veggies you like. We change it up from time to time but the base is always the same. So quick to make any time with mostly items you have in the pantry!

  90. Hello! new to you! I “liked” A Recipe A Day on facebook
    ! I “liked” Gooseberry Patch on facebook! but was already a follower of Gooseberry Patch on Twitter, & if I tweeted right, Im following A Recipe A Day on Twitter as well now! ;)

    For someone in need or suffering a loss or someone who is sick, I like to take them Chicken & Dumplins! Just something wholesome that tends to make you feel better!

  91. Love your blog! Baked spaghetti is my “take-a-dish” I “like” you and Gooseberry on FB. Keep those wonderful recipes coming. I enjoy them!!!

  92. Mac and cheese. Combining ideas of recipes from restaurants in Williamsburg, VA and Lyme, NH. Cream base includes white wine, several kinds of cheese, garlic and thyme. Cook pasta with garlic cloves and thyme.

  93. My favorite recipe to bring to a friend in need is Tater Tot casserole also called Easy Beef Casserole. It’s a simple layered casserole I found in Southern Living.

  94. Just found your blog thru FB Gooseberry Patch. Would love to win a GP cookbook. I have a very large collection of them. Can’t wait to look through your blog.
    Happy Fall!

  95. I usually make lasagna. My favorite and usually everyone else’s comfort food. I can make the recipe for a vegetarian, meat eater or, someone who is gluten free.

  96. With the change in the weather here in Ohio everyone has the sneezes or the sniffles. What better dish to share then home made chicken noodle soup. It warms the body and soul! I would love to win the recipe book it would be my first gooseberry patch but I am thinking not my last! I love the recipes here and there!

  97. Nancy, I love bringing homemade chicken noodle soup, or any hearty soup to others. It is healthy, filling and comforting. –Kathie

  98. Morning Nancy! Usually like to take some sort of chicken (most often either a whole herb roasted bird or my oven b-b-q chicken using drumsticks and breasts), mashed potatoes or rice, and a salad. Then I also take a OMAC dish in a disposable foil pan that they can stick in the freezer and have on hand for later when the meals quit coming in.

    I’ve been a fan of “A Recipe A Day” for some time now…what RZ groupie isn’t :) And though I love Gooseberry Patch, I have never thought to look them up on FB. Going to go do that right now.

    Have fun with your first giveaway!
    Tristine

  99. I like to bring homemade macaroni and cheese or lasagna – comfort food! Maybe a pie too, because (almost) everyone likes pie. =)

    I liked your page and gooseberry’s! Maybe I will actually win a giveaway for once…Haha.

  100. Morning Nancy! I tend to like to make different meals for people in need (depending on size of family, age of kids etc…). However, one thing I always do is make one meal that they can eat right away and then some sort of OAMC dish to put in the freezer. That way they always have a little something after the meals stop coming.

    I’m already a fan of “A Recipe A Day” (what RZ groupie isn’t…) and though I too love Gooseberry Patch I never thought to look them up on FB. Going to go like them now.

    Have fun doing your giveaway!
    Tristine

  101. Hi Nancy – I have been your “fan” on FB for a long while now and also Gooseberry. I love your recipes you send to us by email and have used a few and saved many more!!

    One of my favorite things to bring to a friend who just needs a pick me up is slow cooked roast beef and cheesy potatoes. That way leftovers can be used for another meal or sandwiches. I usually also bring a fruit salad or applesauce and a light dessert or quick bread.

    Thanks for all you do for us!

  102. HI Nancy!! I love to cook too..it is my hobby & my passion. Depending on the circumstances, my go to dish for someone in need is either homemade chicken noodle soup or homemade meatballs & sauce. Love one pot dishes for giving away…makes it so easy! I did like “A Recipe A Day” and “Gooseberry Patch” on Facebook!! I love cookbooks!!! Thanks! Margo

Leave a Reply

