Hot Ham and Swiss Party Rolls

12 Comments

This recipe should come with a defibrillator.  They are so bad calorie-wise but every time I make them for a party, it’s the one appetizer everyone raves over the most.

This recipe is found in so many cookbooks and all over the internet.  It’s small size makes it great for parties or tailgating or a picnic.  I try to skimp some on the butter so that it isn’t quite so bad for you but you’ll have to decide for yourself.  I do hope that you try them once ~ they are excellent!

I made mine early in the morning so I did not marinate overnight and that worked out fine.  In fact, I like it better.

Hot Ham and Swiss Party Rolls

1 cup butter
1/4 cup onion, minced
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons spicy mustard
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon chopped parsley

24 small dinner rolls
mayonnaise
24 slices thin slices deli ham
24 slices thin slices Swiss cheese

Line two 9 x 13-inch baking pans with non-stick or regular foil.

Prepare marinade: Saute onion in butter over low heat until onion is soft. Add poppy seeds, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, and brown sugar. Stir until brown sugar is melted into the sauce. Remove from heat and stir in parsley. Set aside.

Slice the buns in half. Spread bottoms of buns with a thin layer of mayonnaise. Fold ham slices to fit the bottom of each bun. Repeat with Swiss cheese slices, folding to fit buns. Replace bun tops. Place ham and cheese buns into prepared baking pans. Pour marinade evenly over both pans of buns.

Cover tightly with foil. Refrigerate overnight.

Preheat oven to 350°. Bake marinated buns covered for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake an additional 10 minutes.

Makes 24 appetizer sandwiches.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

12 thoughts on “Hot Ham and Swiss Party Rolls

  1. I made a tray for a party last night and every person asked for the recipe! Delicious…just as you said they would be!
    BTW – I had a very busy day and did not get the chance to make them until 2 hours before the party so they marinaded only 2 hours and were still fabulous.
    This recipe is a keeper.

  2. Pingback: Betty’s Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches « The Cooking Channel

  3. these sandwiches have been a suppertime staple as my family of athletes had games we all went to watch. However, I’ve never poured the marinade over them. I just wrapped each one in foil and heated till the Swiss melted. Your version sounds even better.

  4. Hi,

    I was wondering how the pictures that you take of your dishes turn out so well. What do you do with lighting? What kind of camera do you use?

    I have a hard time getting my pictures to look as good as the food does.

    Thanks for the tips. :)

    • Thank you for the compliment! I use a SONY Cyber-Shot, basically a point and shoot. Make sure you are using the Macro setting on your camera (your instruction book will tell you how to use it for your particular camera). Take several shots at different angles. My DH gave me a lighting kit which I use sometimes but I don’t have a place to leave it out so it doesn’t get used as much as it should ~ my pics are better if I use it. Just keep practicing!!! I don’t think my pics are anything special compared to some blogs I see. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

