Peach Blueberry Crostata

18 Comments

We had friends stop by that we hadn’t seen in almost 30 years so I wanted to make some nibbles without making the lunch thing.  We had a great time and really picked up right where we left off 30 years ago.

I made this crostata (it makes 2) with some variation since I KNEW it would juice all over and make a mess.  It started out as a Cooking Light recipe but needed some help in the juice department.  It’s really very good and uses little sugar so the taste of the fruit really comes through.  Because of that, make sure you use fruit tha tis nice and ripe.

Peach Blueberry Crostatas

1 (15 oz) pkg refrigerated pie crusts, such as Pillsbury brand
6 cups peeled, sliced fresh peaches
1 cup fresh blueberries
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten and mixed a a tsp or 2 of water
3 or so tbsps instant tapioca
Turbinado (sugar in the raw) or granulated sugar for sprinkling

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Unroll one dough on top of the parchment. Brush the dough (this will be the inside) with the egg wash and sprinkle with some tapioca.

In a bowl, mix the peaches, blueberries, sugar, and 1-2 tbsps tapioca. If your fruit is very juicy, add the 2 tbsps. I ended up using 2 tbsps.

Arrange half of the fruit in the middle of the dough, leaving a 3 inch border all around the edge. Fold the edge toward the center, gently. Brush egg wash over the dough and then sprinkle with the turbinado sugar.

Bake at 425º of 10 minutes then reduce oven temperature to 350º and bake an additional 20 minutes or until the dough is browned.

Repeat this same procedure with the other dough. I baked both of mine at the same time.

Serve warm or at room temp.

Each crostata serves 4.

Happy Cooking!

18 thoughts on “Peach Blueberry Crostata

  1. Whats the chance using frozen peach slices instead of Winter tasteless hard peaches and instead of pastry sheets, use puff pastry sheet? The preparation wouldn’t take as long and I think it would be tastier!

  2. These look wonderful!!! I want to come to cooking camp!!! Is there a way to get daily recipies? or whenever you share them, sent to me? a
    nd have you put out a cookbook? or you and some of your friends?
    Wow!!! I think I just hit the jackpot!!! Ive looked around a bit and answered a few of my questions!!! Thank you for sharing! I would love to just follow you around!!!

    • Carolyn ~ you can subscribe to my blog right at the top of the page and you will get new posts in an email so you won’t miss anything. I try to blog every day but I manage to miss some days :)

  3. My husband and I made the Peach-Blueberry crostatas tonight. They were absolutely delicious! We made single serve crostatas and they were a hit with our entire family. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us all. I have added it to our favorite recipes.

  4. I’m not really fond of peaches…….. would it be the same with apples or would they create too much juice?

    • I think it would work great ~ in fact, I have probably made one since I make crostatas all the time. If you are afraid it will get too juicy, just use the tapioca and you should be fine.

  5. Pingback: Peach-Blueberry Crostata « Express! Culinary Delights

  6. This looks absolutely delightful! Blueberries and peaches are such a great combination! Thank you for sharing a lovely and easy to prepare dessert! I will definitely be trying this out soon! :)

Leave a Reply

